10 Secrets to a Happy Marriage

I was going to work on this post when I remembered that today is ‘Thankful Thursday’ and I have not participated in a long time; so I decided to combine both. I just finished reading Karen Kingsbury’s final book in the Firstborn Series – Forever. I enjoyed every page of it! However, what struck me was the Ten Secrets to a Happy Marriage, which Mrs Baxter left in letters for all her children. Maybe because I’m getting myself spiritually, emotionally and practically ready for my fiance, anyway, I decided to share it here.

  1. God has you here to serve one another. Love acted out is serving.
  2. Women need respect and nurturing. Love your wife so she knows you’d lay your life down for her. Continue to date her and admire her. Share a hobby – find something you can do to have fun together.
  3. Laugh often.
  4. Be patient. Love crumbles quickly under the weight of unmet expectations.
  5. Spend more time trying to fix ourself than your spouse.
  6. Keep short accounts. The Bible says, “Do not let the sun go down while you are angry.” Make it a habit to forgive.
  7. Determine upfront that divorce is not an option.
  8. Learn about love languages. Not all people show love or receive it the same way. You want a back rub and your spouse wants a clean kitchen. The love languages are fairly simple: acts of service, time, physical touch, gifts, and words of affirmation. Learn them. Love is better received when it’s in the language that person speaks.
  9. Words of affirmation are a love language for all men.
  10. Men are born to be leaders. He cannot lead unless she gives him the confidence to do so. If you love your husband, build him up. Confident men do not seek love outside the home.

Copyright. Karen Kingsbury.

Phew! Stuff to definitely think about. Anyway, I’m thankful:

  • For the One who created marriages in the first place; His love and the way he goes out of His way to teach His children – especially the clueless ones (me?);
  • For my parents and the way the have consistently put these 10 secrets into action in their own marriage (they had their 29th Wedding Anniversary last month);
  • For the man the Lord has given me and how he is willing to work hard for what we have – even though we are not married yet.
  • For the opportunity the Lord is using to teach me hospitality in it’s true meaning.
  • I am so thankful for life! Just as it is only the living that can praise the Lord, so also it’s only the living that can get married.Lol.

The Lord has been gracious to me in so many ways. I’m back home now and it’s taking me awhile to settle down. My brothers STILL exasperate me (nothing has changed there), but the good loving I get from my family is worth the hassle, and I’m thankful. Are you thankful about anything or do you simply want to read more thankful hearts, click the photo below and go to Iris’s site.

16 thoughts on “10 Secrets to a Happy Marriage

  1. Hi Sharon, thanks for sharing these 10 secrets to a happy marriage. Marriage is truly a gift from God, and to be blessed with a godly and loving husband is so precious. May God continue to guide and bless you and your fiance as you seek His blessings to start a godly family together. Thanks for your encouragements. Thanks for sharing your thankful heart with us. Take care and God bless!

  2. Amen to all 10 secrets! Specifically on #7, many people asked me before I married Rick what my “Plan B” was. All I could do was look at them in astonishment and say “If there was a Plan B there would be no need for Plan A” They would answer, “Well, what if it doesn’t work out?” I answered, “then we work harder”. Marrriage is a covenant relationship and divorce is NOT an option!

  3. Hi Sharon,

    As a women who writes about marriage a lot, I loved the 10 secrets. Thank you for sharing such important truths.

    Excellent post. Happy TT.

  4. WOW Sharon…simply aMazing post!!! I was busy for a while here…and then kept reading and catching up since Mon.
    You have had a wonderfully packed week and still found time to write & post so well. There is much to digest here and the GOD GIRLS DEVOTIONAL…But I must comment now and hopefully coming back for more. YOUR marriage book and 10 secrets combined with your awesome example in your parents tells me that Our Lord is preparing you & your fiance to have a blessed marriage! The family stuff will take some adjustment! (or great ability to ignore-lol)
    I will pray for you as I hope that when God prompts you, you will cover me with your prayers! I am blessed by you! Your thankful list is so beautiful and inspirational even to me with a failed marriage! But we serve a God of miracles!

    Thank you for your encouraging words and visit once more!

  5. Thanks for sharing this…and for the wonderful message about preserving marriage. I’m sending the link and sharing it with my husband so he can read this too.

  6. Thank you for your great words of encouragement that you left for me on my TT post. I love your 10 secrets to a happy marriage..how important it is to build up our mate and that alone is worthy of giving thanks! -Blessings, Laurie

  7. Hi Sharon! first, thank you for visiting my thankful thursday note, second, I love that 10 secrets to happy marriage by karen, I’m glad you posted it, I’ve been married for 2 years and 4 months now and I know it will still be a long way..I will need those 10 as reminders 🙂

    Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a comment