Sucessfully Balanced

I read Stephen Covey‘s book THE 7 HABITS OF HIGHLY EFFECTIVE PEOPLE. It is a good book. But from the first chapter I could tell that not many people who read it will believe its principles and only a fraction of those who do believe will practice what it says.Everyone wants to be successful but very few people are willing to go the trusted and tried way. There has, over the years, been a terrific paradigm shift in the way people think. Those who are old enough would remember their grandparents advising hard work and perseverance. Hard work? Not likely. Especially as the crime rate escalates in Nigeria and elsewhere in the world.

A few years ago, while working on my final year thesis, I went to a cyber-café to browse for materials all through the night. It was shocking the age of the boys I saw perusing the internet for some unsuspecting person to scam. These boys were younger that my youngest bother! Call it Advanced Fee Fraud (or 419 as it is called after the section of the law here in Nigeria), or call it get-rich-quick. Whatever you choose to call it, it is still just a syndrome of what is wrong with the thinking going around.

Success, true success can be defined not in the magnitude of what you have outside but in what you have inside; whose life you have influenced for good. A truly successful life is a balanced life.

Living a balanced life seems to be an unattainable goal for a lot of people; our lives are like a swinging pendulum, we quite often find ourselves on either extreme of the pendulum. Yet I daresay it is a very desirable one.

When people ask me what I think is most important in life I usually answer ‘balance’. Why balance? Some of you might ask. In fact I am pretty sure if my parents or any of their friends are reading this they are going to ask: what happened to God?

I believe He is a God of balance. That is one reason we have the Holy Spirit – to help us maintain a gentle rocking of the pendulum: the balance between wild riotous living and a dreary life of absolutely no fun; the balance between a brutal, abusive parent and a parent who provides absolutely no boundaries or discipline.

3 Comments to “Sucessfully Balanced”

  1. Thank you for visiting and for your kind comments. Your site is great – good topics and very well written. I will be visiting again!
    In His Love and Blessings,
    annb

  2. Thanks so much Ann…you are an encouragement.

  3. Sharon, I’m up past my bedtime..but read this one..I couldn’t agree w/ you more…here I sit as a 50 yr old man who is living what I would consider a balanced life…that wasn’t always the case and once you get there, it takes intentional effort to stay somewhat balanced .(I’ve never read the book so I have no idea what he says)….the word picture I have in my mind about balance and life is the long distance marathon runner (as Hebrews compares the Christian life to a race.)…the runner needs to find a pace he can keep for the long haul..that speaks to me of a balanced life…I have nothing to be proud of if I burn myself out (or as some people say burn the candle and both ends.) there is a night and day difference between me trying to imitate Christ vs. the life of Christ flowing out of me…which in my book is a balanced life.

Leave a Reply

