Thankful Thursday – Garlic

For the earth is the Lord’s, and the fulness thereof. (Psalm 24:1; 1Corinthians 10:26)

Early this year, I was diagnosed with asthma for the first time. It has been a very uncomfortable experience. As a result of it, I took a 2 month leave without pay and have spent so much of my savings on doctor’s fees and drugs. And it’s still been a struggle.

The greatest trial has been this recurring cough, which nothing seemed to help. I tried all sorts of cough mixtures, took my drugs faithfully, puffed from the inhaler frequently and I still had trouble sleeping because of the cough.

Then my fiance suggested I try garlic. I thought GARLIC??!!! I have a whole stash of garlic in my apartment – in the kitchen! That is where garlic belongs, to be used inside the pots. Not to chew…ugh! Anyway, I gave in and started chewing cloves of garlic and it has been like magic! I still get asthmatic attacks, I’m still coughing in fact, but I sleep better now and I can’t help being thankful for that.

I went on the internet and did some research on garlic and this is what I found:

  1. That Garlic has scientifically-proven medicinal properties. It contains a substance called Allicin, which has anti-bacterial properties that are equivalent to a weak penicillin. (From GardensAblaze.Com);
  2. It protects your heart;
  3. Reduces inflammation in the body;
  4. Prevents Cancer;
  5. Fights infectious diseases such as – Cold and flu, Stomach viruses, Candida yeast, Tuberculosis and Botulism;
  6. Prevents weight gain;

(2 – 6 from Sixwise.com)

For a history of Garlic, check here. WARNING: If you are on any medication at all, please read this from Drugs.Com before using garlic.

I know today’s TT post is a bit unusual. But I can’t believe how wonderful God’s creation is! This is a completely natural herb. . . and it did what several other forms of medication could not do for me. Every night, when I chew on some garlic (as I’m doing right now), I still cannot stop marveling. That is why today, I am thankful for:

  • A God who created the heavens and the earth.
  • His Son who loves me and takes care of everything that concerns me;
  • His earth, which is full of surprises;
  • Healing as I battle with asthma;
  • Iris at Sting My Heart.

Join Iris at Sting My Heart for more thankful hearts.

PS: You can check here for a wonderful recipe to make this French Garlic Soup. (I haven’t tried it myself, but I intend to!).

For a detailed article on asthma, check here.

25 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – Garlic

  1. It is truly amazing how God has so many things in nature that can cure (or at least help) our ailments.

    I was having stomach issues a few weeks back. I tried activated charcoal and was amazed at the immediate difference!

    God IS incredible! Activated charcoal??? Never heard of it . . . though my grandma takes it out of the fireplace (where she still does all her cooking btw) and mixes it with water and drinks. (yuck). OK – delete that, I should know better than to turn my nose up at anything! LOL

    Thanks for stopping by.
    sharon~

  2. I couldn’t help laughing when I read your TT post. I LOVE garlic, I adore it and we’re thinking of just planting it in a small garden since we go through so much garlic in our home.

    It’s funny how we take something like that for granted and yet Praise God when we discover it does more than give us bad breathe. LOL

    God bless you for a wonderful TT post; It put a smile on my face.

    Aw…I love that this TT put a smile on your face – I consider that my achievement for the week!LOL.
    Ahhh…bad breath…another reason why I thank God i’m on leave; now its only my poor fiance who has to suffer the breath and since HE suggested the garlic..hehe.
    Thanks for stopping by Twinkle Mom, God bless you.

  3. wonderful t know that your coughing has somehow subsided. my SIL’s also constantly plagued by coughs due to asthma. i should tell her about your post! thanks so much for sharing … 🙂
    have a blessed day!

    Hi Maiylah, sorry about your SIL’s cough – can really be troublesome! By all means please tell her about this post – though if she comes at you because of the bad breath, I’ll plead innocence. lol.

    Thanks for stopping by….

  4. Praise God that the garlic helps you. I am asthmatic too. I can understand how difficult those persistent cough can be. Remembering in prayers that our Lord will continue to strengthen and restore you. Thanks for sharing your thankful heart with us. God’s creations are awesome, reflecting His love for us. Many blessings to you!

  5. This was both fun and informative – thanks for sharing it! I really enjoy finding out great little nuggets of info about common, natural things that God created.

  6. Oh wow! That is amazing! I can’t imagine chewing garlic as I used to hate it in my food. Now I eat it as long as it’s chopped but if it prevents weight gain then I’m willing to try it Lol! Thank you for reminding me that even plants are given by God and vegetables and spices that we should be thankful of. 🙂
    My sister is asthmatic too growing up. It’s not easy. I’ve watched her breathe like her breath was so tiny. If she gets stressed out she will have asthma attack. I will be praying for you, Sharon. I know God will heal us, He has made my sister well.

  7. I’m thankful for garlic too! Without garlic, I wouldn’t have been able to enjoy garlic bread – yummy! It certainly helps to keep those flu and cold at bay. It helps to keep off ticks from my dog too, seriously! LOL.

    Happy TT!

  8. I developed asthma when we moved to CO a few years back, so I empathize with your struggles.
    Haven’t tried garlic, but the soup looks yummy!
    Beth@TheAccidentalPharisee

  9. What a great post of thankfulness. Also it teaches me that everything here on earth, HE created for a purpose and that HE made us to learn about it. I am glad that you’re feeling better now.
    Thanks for sharing.

  10. I have asthma also and didn’t know that garlic could help it. I will be making your garlic soup this weekend!

    Apples and apple cider vinegar are suppose to help asthma as well.

    I’m thankful that I came here because asthma stinks and I will take anything to feel better. It’s worse in the summer, a bit better in the Fall and then bad in the winter (due to the cold). Spring is awful for me due to the pollen.

  11. Garlic…who knew? I also heard that coffee helps too. My brother had asthma for years, terrible asthma. Today, he is off all of his medication and feels wonderful.

  12. Thanks for this post. God is really good and Mother Nature really is so generous to us- providing us with what we need. Now this makes me wonder how I’d be able to give some garlic to my toddler. 🙂

    Thanks also for the link on the French Garlic Soup. I saved it in my bookmark.

  13. This is a very good thankful list and this will help also to other asthmatic people. Thanks for sharing and praise God for He help you with your problem. I will do a lot of research about this garlic too and post it in my health blog…Take care.

  14. It amazes me how much is out there that is natural and good for our body. I guess that is how the Indians was always healthy. They lived off the land. I have a friend who shops at the organic stores. She rarely gets sick. She maybe onto something.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Darlene @Everything to me
    http://puffspocket.blogspot.com

  15. Great post! Glad garlic is working for you. I love garlic but don’t use it often enough. Great list of things to be thankful for, too. Happy TT!

  16. I don’t think it’s unusual at all to be thankful for all of the wonderful things that God has created and provided for us in nature. Garlic has been proven to do so much. It’s really neat. And it tastes so good!! Keep chewing and feeling better. I’m glad you found out it works to some degree. Any degree is better than no degree at all!

  17. Sharon,

    I’ve heard about how good garlic is in the past, but ooohhhh I don’t think I could just eat it. But, I’ve also not been in your situation, so who knows.

    Glad to hear it’s been helping.

    Have a great weekend.

    Cheryl

Leave a comment