Stress Control

I choose not to allow unnecessary stress to control me. I deserve peace. I let go of unnecessary stress in my life to make way for peace. I deserve peace and recognize its value for my health, productivity and relationships. I consciously embrace peace when I find myself facing stressors and I refuse to waste energy on things that are outside my control. While I recognize that there are situations in my life that will cause stress regardless of what I do, I assess each situation to determine if this stress is beneficial or pointless. I know I am free to remove that stressor from my life. I am responsible for my own well being. I can choose how stress affects me and how I respond to this glitch in my day. If I am stuck in a traffic jam, for example, I choose to see it as an opportunity to listen to audio books or sing along with my favorite tunes. Stress does not control me or dictate what kind of day I am having. I control my own responses and choose to make them positive, because this path leads to greater peace and productivity. Self-Reflection Questions:

  1. Are there any unnecessary stressors in my life that I can eliminate?
  2. Why do I hang onto things that unnecessarily stress me out?
  3. What is a common, but unavoidable, source of stress that I could respond to more positively?

2 thoughts on “Stress Control

  1. The longer I was in my chosen profession (construction/general contractor) the more able I was able to I identify the situations that produced stress. I began to restructure my approach to doing business. It has made a world of difference in my day to day stress level.
    In addition, 15 years ago we found ourselves in the position of being landlords. At first, I thought- hey this is a great way to accumulate some additional capital. Discovered it was also a great way to add a lot more stress to life. Long story short, we disentangled ourselves from that “opportunity” and have never looked back. As someone once said, the more you own, the more it owns you.

  2. Thanks for that insight DM. I have been under a lot of stress lately and I can’t seem to find how to de-stress. I guess this is because even though the stressors seem to be external, they are really actually internal. What is going on around me does not affect me so much as what is going on INSIDE me and for once, I am powerless. I do not know how to deal with it. I am giving it to God but this seems magnetic. That is, I go to him in prayers, laying down my burden and when I’m done praying, it’s almost like I pick it up again. 😐

Leave a Reply

