Building My Confidence

I had to lose my ‘self’ anything so that I could gain a Christ-confidence and Christ-esteem. LOL. Imagine that. So now, my confidence and esteem will not be so much centered around my abilities or my thoughts about myself but more about HIS abilities and whom HE says I am. Wow. It is slow but I can definitely say I am getting there.

I have some really good friends (who are more sisters than friends) that I communicate with online. I was exchanging emails with one of them when I had this Oprah Aha moment. I had been struggling with my confidence for some time and did not know how to find my way back to the extremely breezily confident young woman I used to be. A lot of water had gone under the bridge connecting that woman to the one I currently am.

But typing those words, I realised that while self confidence and self esteem have their place, they are not where a child of God is supposed to be. At least not for too long. When confidence and esteem are centred around self, they are bound to come crashing down eventually. Things happen that are beyond our control. Things we cannot help and are helpless to control. When our sense of self is centred around our abilities, what happens when we are no longer able to do?

As a child of God, my confidence should be in God himself and my esteem should be in the esteem in which He holds me. Now that is all fine in theory. How do I relate this to my everyday life?

I decided to search the Bible in order to discover just who God says I am. OK fine, I confess. The internet and the Bible.

In my search, I have discovered certain things:

  1. I AM wonderfully complex. (Psalm 139:14 NLT) As a teenager I always felt that I was complex (actually I still feel that way 🙂 ). I am glad to find that I am finally validated. I am not just a complex being, I am wonderfully complex. So it’s OK if you do not understand me, like I said, I am complex. 😉
  2. I was special from the word GO “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations” (Jeremiah 1:5) To think that even before I was born, I was called and set apart; God had something special for me to do…wow.
  3. I am beautiful. He makes everything beautiful in it’s time (Ecclesiastes 3:11). OK I knew already but it’s good to be reminded.

Those are what I have found personally. Then there’s a list I found here and these particularly spoke to me.

  • I am a child of God. But to all who have received him–those who believe in his name–he has given the right to become God’s children … (John 1:12).
  • I am a friend of Jesus. I no longer call you slaves, because the slave does not understand what his master is doing. But I have called you friends, because I have revealed to you everything I heard from my Father (John 15:15).
  • I have been accepted by Christ. Receive one another, then, just as Christ also received you, to God’s glory (Romans 15:7).
  • I am chosen, Holy and blameless before God. For he chose us in Christ before the foundation of the world that we may be holy and unblemished in his sight in love (Ephesians 1:4)

There are a lot more over here but these ones spoke especially to me. I intend to search the Bible for even more of what (or who) God says I am and I will share with you from time to time.

If you are suffering an identity crisis or a low self esteem, I think this is the place to go. When you discover how wonderful you are through the eyes of the Most High, you will value yourself much more. Not because of your abilities or talents, but because of the value the Creator of the universe places on you.

If you know any other verses do share with me. Seriously, I need them.

Leave a Reply

