Taking A Breather

I am taking a break from blogging about the Love Dares. I will still be blogging, just not about the LDs – at least, not for a while. However if you would like an update on the last dare, keep reading.

When I was a little girl, about 8 years old, I read a storybook. In that story book, I read about a family that lived on the countryside who had opened up their home to a child from New York City for the summer. I do not remember much from the story, only that they had to meet the child at the train station. On that train, there were several other children who would get off on the different train stops. That time, I think there was just one major rail from east to west. I tried to imagine what it was like for those children, growing up without miles and miles of open field to run wild in or mango trees to climb and I failed miserably. I felt sad for them. But it was just a story right?

Imagine my shock and delight when I was contacted a couple of years ago to blog about the Fresh Air Fund and I discovered that they were the ones who were placing children on trains as far back as 1877, which was the era around which the story book was based! I was amazed, I tell you.

For over 100 years, the Fresh Air Fund has provided free summer vacations to more than 1.7 million New York City children from low-income communities. They work through hosts.

Hosts are ordinary folk who volunteer to take in a child or two for a couple of weeks during summer. This gives these children an opportunity to experience childhood in a different way. Several lives have been touched and this has all been because of people like you, with hearts of gold.

Another summer is here and the Fresh Air Fund needs hosts. If you would like to volunteer, please get in touch. If you would like to donate on the other hand, click here or go to FreshAirFund.Org.

By the way, if you know the storybook I am talking about, please let me know. Thanks!

Below is a video. Listen to the story of Brandon Mendoza and how the Fresh Air Fund changed his life.

The Love Dares

Yesterday, the dare was to spend some money for the man. I went into KL city with my mum and brother. We decided to go to the Plaza Low Yat – the IT mall. At the entrance, I was entranced by the aroma of freshly baked cookies. I was practically drooling but I decided to restrain myself. We went about our business. Soon it was time to leave and I was once again assaulted by the aroma. I ignored it and we left to another shopping mall. Then as fate 🙂 would have it, we passed in front of the Plaza Low Yat and this time around, I knew it was meant to be. I stopped fighting my destiny and went for the tastiest cookies it has ever been my pleasure to munch. They were the Famous Amos cookies.

Halfway through the cookies, it occurred to me that maybe I should leave some for the dh. It took a lot of self control, but I kept the remaining half for him. That was before I read the dare though.

My mum went out with my brother and they came back with one chocolate covered wafer from Cadburry. Now, I can resist chocolate (truly I can), but combined with wafers….? Uh uh. (Now you know my secret 😉 ). Anyway, after a brief struggle with myself, I handed it over to dh and told him it was a token of my love. He was so touched he left what he was doing and gave me a kiss, then proceeded to eat it all up! 😦 *sigh*

The next dare is below:

Everyone counts it a joy to be thought of. Contact your man today, with no special motivation in mind other than to say ‘honey you’re on my mind.’  Ask him if there is anything you can do for him, any need he has that you can meet.

2 Comments to “Taking A Breather”

  1. sharon, there was something similiar I remember reading about called the “Orphan train”..same time period- where they put orphan kids on a train heading West and they were adopted by families settled in the West. I also remember some of the kids were “adopted’ so they could be another set of hands on the farm…maybe google Orphan train and see if that’s what you remember. dm

    • I googled the “Orphan train” like you said and I think you may be right. But what book was it? I can just imagine being an orphan on that train with my heart in my mouth at each stop; praying I will get adopted yet dreading it. Then imagine the disappointment that follows each whistle as the train pulls out of yet another station and I am still on it. . .

Leave a Reply

