What’s in Your Bag? – Prioritizing Your Life

I just watched Up in the Air the other day and it was interesting. Not really my first choice when it comes to movies but at least, I watched it to the end (though that’s not saying much. I watch Hong Kong Fooey to the end 🙂 )

The character played by George Clooney was just that; a character. Suave, polished, sophisticated…the quintessential bad boy, though there was nothing boyish about him if you know what I mean 😉 This was a guy who spent the major part of his life on the road, I mean he considered airports home! That should give a picture to the kind of life he lived and the nature of his relationships.

He had this philosophy and he traveled across the United States, giving motivational talks based on the philosophy. The lecture was usually titled What is in Your Bag? and was based on the philosophy that life was like a backpack and whatever could not fit into it should be left behind. Houses, Furniture, People…! That was what boggled my mind. He felt people and the relationships that came with them were so much extra luggage and at an airport, excess luggage equaled wasted time.

This got me thinking. True, this character, in my considered opinion, was definitely screwed. However, let us borrow his metaphor for a bit.

Assuming your life was a bag that could fit in only a limited number of things (including people),what would be found inside? How much excess luggage (translate baggage) would you be found with? Excess is anything that is not absolutely essential to you. What are you carrying around that is not absolutely essential.

Imagine you are carrying a bag – it could be any kind of bag; a traveling bag, a backpack, a prada clutch. . . just take a few minutes to imagine. Then go through the contents of your bag? What is in there? A stick of lipstick, a Gucci wallet filled with several credit cards? Maybe even an American Express Platinum card (hey, anything goes in the realm of imagination!) So, we’re still examining the bag. Could that be a shiny new Enid Blyton for your niece? What is in your bag and what value do you attach to each item?

So many folks fill their life bags with what is not important or what really does not have much long term value. We substitute people for things. We attach value to what we cannot add value. Sure, that property you own might in the next few years rise in value, but do you have VARs?

VARs is my coinage and it means Value Added Relationships. How many people can say that their lives are richer for knowing you? Are you a role model? Have you infected anyone positively?

These were the thoughts which ran through my mind days after I watched Up In The Air. I want to live a life that counts for something. I do not want to get to the stage where things count more than people. If at any time my bag is opened, I want it to contain VARs. Relationships with my God, my family and my friends.

What is in your bag?

8 Comments to “What’s in Your Bag? – Prioritizing Your Life”

  1. Talking of “a shiny New Enid Blyton for your neice,” I am glad to inform you that I have published a book on Enid Blyton, titled, The Famous Five: A Personal Aencdotage (www.bbotw.com).
    Stephen Isabirye

  2. I guess it’s really important to chuck the heavy things out, but keep our favourite things there. Like a memoir for example. It may be heavy, but it’s a good heavy…as if it gives us the strength. On the other hand, there’s a break up letter, or a rejection letter from a university. We need to let all that go.
    Keep only that helps you move forward.
    I have a long way to go…but I will, one day. InshaAllah.

    • I like your perception Nahl, especially the break-up letter part. Letting go of the bad stuff is definitely good practice. Wish you wisdom in your journey.

  3. hmmmmm…this is good reading Sharon…

    “How many people can say that their lives are richer for knowing you? Are you a role model? Have you infected anyone positively?”…that hit right home…need to make some improvements in this area…thx 4 sharing…

    • Hey Doyin! How have you been? Thanks for the comment, glad you enjoyed reading.
      Guess we all need improvement in one area of our lives or the other…we are after all, works in progress.
      Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  4. If only more people could read this!

Leave a Reply

