When Life Knocks You Down Focus On The Positives

Sometimes, life knocks you down. This is a very real fact of life. You are not always on top of your game. Things will not always go right for you. Forget about what that Preacher said; being a Christian is not an automatic pass to a pain-free life. That is the plain truth. What matters, what counts is how you choose to see being down and if you decide to remain there.

I had been feeling a bit down and overwhelmed with life. I guess for those who really know me, it is understandable. Yet, even for those who do know me, there were other contributing circumstances to my state of mind. Some things I have been trusting God for are still…well, let’s just say I am still trusting for them. Only they seemed to be taking an awful long time and I started focusing on the negatives in my life. As a result, I found it impossible to blog with anything resembling enthusiasm (bearing in mind that this blog is really about encouragement).

Then yesterday I got a mail from a mailing list I subscribe to. It was from Darren Hardy of SUCCESS Magazine. It was a simple message, nothing flowery. But this caught my attention:

“Point is, as long as you are on the right side of the dirt, no obstacle really matters.

…So it’s okay to get knocked down; its even good for you—it’s the beginning of growth. And it’s okay that it smarts a bit. And it’s okay to give yourself some recovery time. Now just try and reduce the time it knocks you out. And get over the idea that life sucks for you.” (Read the rest of the post here)

That got me thinking. There were so many things that were going right for me. True, the negatives were there and they could be oppressive, but that was my choice: what I wanted to focus on. So I gave myself permission yesterday to hold my pity-party (and not even my closest and dearest knew about that) and today I am focusing on my positives. Coincidentally, I remembered just this minute that today is Thankful Thursday. No better day to start being positive right?

In that spirit, I am really grateful for Darren Hardy and his publication. I have never seen a copy of SUCCESS Magazine – not in Nigeria when I lived there and not in Malaysia now. So I have no opportunity to buy one. But reading Darren’s blog is almost as good. By the way, if you haven’t, subscribe to his blog.

I am also thankful for the best family in the world – mine 🙂 I do not always make them happy, but they always stand by me 100%.

My husband is the best. I am not saying he is perfect, just that he is close 🙂 I appreciate his presence in my life and how he goes out of his way to make me smile. Thanks, love.

It is raining outside and that has made the temperature cooler. What this means is that the air-conditioning will not have to work too hard to keep us cool.

I have made the most awesome friends since I arrived Kuala Lumpur. Thanks so much guys for your love and the way you keep checking up on us to make sure we are doing fine.

I realise that there is so much to be grateful for and that in itself is a gift – the ability to see the positives in life. Before I sign off, I’ll recommend two sites to you:

8 Comments to “When Life Knocks You Down Focus On The Positives”

  1. Be blessed, praying for you.

  2. Thank you for your Thankful Thursday post. This is my first visit. I will be back!!

  3. The blog is really nice one and full of information we appreciate the kind of information you have provided in this post. The information are so useful for all of us and we would like to thank you from the bottom of our heart for this wonderful information.The things you have discussed about in this post which are supposed to be very helpful for us. Because of these wonderful information in this post the blog can be viewed again and again

  4. Hi Sharon,

    I can truly identify with you. Life has many ups and downs and especially for me with my chronic illness. But I am learning that the down time are really time of growing for me, for me to know God in very real ways and know His love and mercies better. I am learning to be thankful too and focus on God’s goodness and not the negative things in my life.

    It’s encouraging to read of your thankful post. Thank God for blessing you and family.

    Thanks for your visit and encouragement. Take care and God bless you and family with a very blessed weekend!

    Warm regards,
    Nancie
    More Than Conquerors

    • Living with a chronic illness cannot be easy and if anyone has a right to live in a down time, one would say it would be you. Yet you are always so positive…I don’t know how you do it. Guess it’s the grace of God.

      Thanks for stopping here Nancie and for your warm comment. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

