Thankful Thursday ~ Celebrating A Life Well Lived

The last thing I feel like doing today is putting up a Thankful Thursday post. Not that I don’t have things to be thankful about, but I have not been feeling very thankful this week.

At the beginning of the week I got news about the death of a really good friend. Actually, he was my dad’s friend but he was also mine. He was like a father to me and took interest in what went on in my life. He was the one I could talk to when my dad was being difficult.

He had been valiantly fighting cancer for a couple of years now. The harrowing thing about cancer was that it actually looked as though he was winning the fight. He would get better for months and then go into remission. I lived in a different country so I did not have to face the daily annihilation of hope like his wife did. Still, my family and I along with so many other children of God across the globe kept a prayer vigil for him. But he still died.

That is what I cannot understand. This man was a child of God; yes I know, children of God pass through sorrow too. But he devoted a great portion of his life to God and ministry. His whole life was one of service to God. If you run a poll of how many lives he touched, the polling agent would be overwhelmed. That was how he was… He was not a perfect man, far from it. But he was a man who inspired love and devotion from those who knew him. How could he just go like that? Barely in his 60s??

I am confused. I know he was not afraid of going, if anything he probably looked forward to it. So despite my heavy heart and teary eyes, I still want to say Thank you to God for a life well lived. I am thankful

  1. For the privilege of knowing such a man
  2. For the impact he had in my life
  3. For the life he lived
  4. For Christ who has made it possible for us to meet again – someday.

8 Comments to “Thankful Thursday ~ Celebrating A Life Well Lived”

  1. Your post is a reminder to me that this earth is just temporary and one day soon we are going back home to our Heavenly Father. I thank Him for a free salvation to humanity.

  2. Sending my condoleance to you…..!
    Your thankful list says it all how Christ change our perspective when we need to gothrough sorrow life struggles and grief…….
    When reading your post the picture of the Lord came to me when He was so angry about “death”……
    Where would we be without Jesus…who always make an way ….In this life and in eternity…..

    Blessings
    Bernice

    • Thanks Bernice… It is hard to bear sorrow, but knowing that death has been defeated makes it easier. Where would we be without Jesus?

      God bless you

  3. Sorry for the loss of your friend.

  4. Hey Sharon,
    Its ok to grieve, stay strong, God is your strenght. You are doing the right think talking about him, also appreciating his live. I the 5:18 – give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

    Thank God he was saved and knew the Lord, so he is in a good place. I trust DH will take good care of you. Have a great weekend.

    • Thanks Buky. It is darn hard to give thank; even though my dad told me his funeral was one of celebration (though I could not attend). Still, we thank God and you are right, he is in a good place.

      DH has been really sweet.

Leave a Reply

