Practicing the Art of Listening

I am practicing listening. It is part of the Husband Encouragement Challenge. I am generally a good listener, except

courtesy: stock Photos http://www.sxc.hu

when it comes to the man I married. This is because I’m not much of a talker. I would rather listen to people than talk about myself. Dh is one of the few people I really want to talk to and I just find myself jabbering and yammering where he’s concerned. He’s patient and listens to me.

He complained yesterday that he was the one doing all the talking and I was too quiet. I told him I was practicing listening. He found it amusing. I don’t blame him. I am a talkative. But it’s only my family and close friends that get to see that side of me.

Anyway, this is not a completely altruistic gesture; I’m also doing this for me. There’s a verse of Scripture which actually tells us to listen more.

Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. (James 1:19 – NLT)

I believe the world would be a better place if we all practiced this.

Husband Encouragement Challenge – DAY 9
We are often so busy speaking that we don’t take time to listen. We are so quick to offer a comment – negative or positive – that we don’t really “hear” our husband’s heart.
Remember: we have two ears and only one mouth. We need to listen more!
As you continue in your 30-day challenge, not speaking negatively and focusing on positive encouragement, hear the Lord’s admonition today: “Be swift to hear.” If listening is a real problem for you, play a game with yourself. See if you can listen to your husband for one whole day, only speaking when asked a question. If your husband notices the difference, explain that you are learning to listen more-not only to God, but also to him.
One easy way to express admiration for your husband is to ask a question about something he enjoys, and then listen to his response. If it’s an area of personal familiarity, keep asking questions until you learn something you didn’t know, then tell him, “Wow, I didn’t know that!”

Here’s a video about listening…hope you enjoy the tips on being a good listener.

2 Comments to “Practicing the Art of Listening”

  1. I agree that listening can sometimes be difficult. As a Pastor, when somebody’s talking, anybody (even my wife and friends), even if I don’t agree with them, I often have to say to myself, “shut up, Andy, and just listen.” Because you’re right, we want to talk, respond, and put in our thoughts.
    Thanks for the post.
    As for your friend in Nigeria, I agree that it’s probably Satan just messing with her in his deviant ways, but I’ll pray for her tonight.

    I’ve just recently started up a ministry, Q/A-style blog that I’d like to invite you to: http://dearpastorandy.blogspot.com/

    Please stop by, even if just to update me on your friend.

    • Hi Pastor Andy,

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for the comment. I don’t know why it is easier to listen to strangers than to those we love…oh well. I am a work in progress.

      Thanks for the prayers for my friend…I really appreciate it.
      I have visited your blog and it makes interesting reading.

      Hope you come back soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

