Thankful Thursday – God’s Promise To Me

It is amazing how the word of God can surround your heart like a billow of smoke and bring comfort to you. The incredible thing is that it comes to you just when you need it.

When I first came to Malaysia, there was a word God gave me from the Scriptures:

4 Every valley shall be exalted
And every mountain and hill brought low;
The crooked places shall be made straight
And the rough places smooth;
(Isaiah 40:4, New King James Version)

Here I was in a strange country, far from home. I knew hardly anybody and it was just God I had to rely on. So I held on to this in fervent hope. I hid it in my heart and would bring it out several times a day to examine it, revel in it and then put it away for next time. However, I got caught up with settling down and so many other stuff that I forgot to remind myself of this Scripture for weeks.

Then this week I got distressed about something. I became so anxious, I started having stomach aches. I tried to pray but was just too worried, well, I mumbled a few words of prayer and went back to worrying. I got so distressed I shed a few tears. Then I decided to listen to the Bible. I try to listen to the Daily Audio Bible each day but I was behind.

That day, I listened to the podcast for the 15th of March, 2010 and it was the story of Balak and Balaam from chapter 23 of the book of Numbers . Halfway into the story these words jump out at me

God is not a man, so he does not lie.
He is not human, so he does not change his mind.
Has he ever spoken and failed to act?
Has he ever promised and not carried it through?

– Numbers 23:19 (NLT)

Oh Lord! It was balm to my aching soul. I can’t tell you how these words blessed me. I was reminded of the earlier Scripture I had been holding on to and I felt the peace of reassurance deep inside me.

It does not matter what we are going through at the moment, God is not a promise-breaker. He will never let us down; it is not in his DNA. He is ever faithful and the sort of Father who does not allow his children to suffer without comforting them.

I am thankful –

  • for a Father who loved me enough to send his son to die for me
  • For His word which reaches out to reassure me of that love
  • For His peace which passes understanding

What are you thankful for today? Join Laurie at Women Taking A Stand to share your thankful heart or read other thankful hearts.

14 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – God’s Promise To Me

  1. Hi Sharon,

    Amen! Thank God that for His love in sending His Son to die for us and His Word which reaches out to reassure us of that love. So glad that He has comforted you in your difficult time. May God continue to strengthen you with His Words and fill you with His peace and joy. Thanks for your visit! Btw, are you still living in Malaysia? I am just your next door neighbour in Singapore 🙂 Take care and God bless you!

    Warm regards,
    Nancie

    1. Hey Nancie,

      Thanks so much for stopping by. It is wonderful the way God continually finds ways to encourage his children; the Word is so rich! When I get tempted to worry, I’ll try and encourage myself in His Word.

      Yes I am still living in Malaysia. I hope to visit Singapore soon. Maybe I’ll pay you a visit.
      Have a lovely weekend,
      sharon

  2. Its funny, I had a very similar experience (for a different reason) and I wrote about the same sort of thing and have already read two TTs about this! I love how God knows when and how best to encourage us – after all that is what we are supposed to do! Thank you for this, I feel blesssed!

    1. God is faithful to us Dana and it is one of the many things I love about being his child. I am glad you got encouraged in your time of trouble. We all go through stressful times but thank God we know where to run to.

      Thanks for visiting! God bless you

  3. Beautiful, beautiful blessings. You absolutely cannot let the devil steal your joy, though, and give you stomach aches! God loves you too much for that. Hope you have a blessed weekend!

    1. You are so right Rita, I can’t let the devil steal my joy! And he really tried. But thank God for His Word of encouragement. Thanks so much for visiting.

      God bless you!

Leave a Reply

