Being an Encouraging Partner

Time for an update on how the Dares and Challenges are going.

Thus far, I’ve done Days 1 – 5 of the Husband Encouragement Challenge and Days 1-3 of the Love Dare. I blogged about the first few days so this is Days 3-5 of the Challenge and Days 2-3 of the Dare.

The Challenges first:

Day 3 – For this Challenge, I was asked to not say anything negative or unkind to my husband and also to appreciate him for his kindness. The Bible Verses were

“…love suffers long, and is kind…” 1 Cor. 13:4

“And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ
Jesus.” Phil. 4:19
How did I do? Well, what can I say? I have the sores in my mouth as evidence. I had to bite and bite the sides of my mouth and to be honest I hated it! But you know what? At the end of the day I felt better for it.

Day 4 – I was asked to show appreciation for my husband’s work and that I valued the fact that he is hardworking. Then was told to find a quality to praise in the case of a husband who can’t, won’t or refuses to work.

That was a bit hard for me because since he came from Nigeria my husband has been busy trying to catch up and synchronise with his office back home. I have sometimes felt neglected as he enters the door and heads straight for the computer. Normally I would have complained but instead, I told him how I admired his single mindedness and how hard he worked. I let him know that he was a good husband and a good provider.

After doing that, it was easier for me to tell him the next day that I wouldn’t mind a bit of attention. He took it well and apologised. And that’s that, at least for now.

Day 5 – This one was an instruction to edify my husband by building him up and praising him before others.
I do it all the time but now there’s only my brother here. Not like that stopped me. I am really proud of my husband and I don’t care who knows it.

Ok. Now to the dares.

Love Dare Day 2 – Love is Kind… “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving eachother, just as God in Christ has also forgiven you.” Ephesians 4:32

Remember, if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. And add to that: Commit at least one random act of kindness today toward your spouse – an unexpected gesture of some sort.

Make note of what you did and how it was recieved. What are you learning so far?

Funny, the not saying anything negative goes right in sync with the Challenges so I did not have to remember that one specially. Right. Random act of kindness…well, I can’t think of anything that qualifies right now. I love doing stuff for him and many times go out of my way to make sure he’s ok. Does that qualify as a random act of kindness?

Love Dare Day 3 – Love is not selfish… “Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor” Romans 12:10

It’s hard to care for what you don’t invest in. Put your money where your mouth is; buy your spous a ‘just because’ gift today. Something small, something that is meanigful to THEM. (please note that ‘ TO THEM’)

What did u give? How did they respond? What did that response reveal to you?

I don’t have any money of my own and it seemed kinda weird to take money from him to by him a present. So I improvised and made his favourite dish for him instead. He was so full of gratitude especially as he has not been really coming to terms with Asian cuisine 🙂

So that’s how far I’ve gone on the challenges and dares. The challenge is really a challenge for me but I think I’m seeing positive feedback from dh. It’s a bit too soon to tell though so I’ll keep watching. One thing I have realised is that I really cannot do this by myself. So I am relying a lot on God’s grace to get me through. I find myself chaffing at the bits to let him know my mind every now and then. I don’t know how many times I have had to bite back a tart remark (I didn’t know I had such an evil tongue!) I am taking it one day at a time. Like we say in Nigeria, God dey (God is sufficient).

The 30 Days Husband Encouragement Challenge is provided courtesy of Revive Our Hearts.com and the Love Dare has been made available through the Being Mrs V facebook group.

One Comment to “Being an Encouraging Partner”

  1. Some of life’s best pleasures are its simplest ones.Enrich your life with the one thought of love and your heart will be more happy.

    persian singles

Leave a Reply

