Thankful Thursday – My Sweetheart


Today is Thankful Thursday over at Laurie’s. The Lord has been incredibly good to me and there are always a thousand things to thank him for. But this week, I want to thank God for my husband.

We have been living in two different countries for the past two months; I in Malaysia and He in Nigeria. I know two months is not a long time, but it seemed like forever to me. I had to settle in the country, see about getting an apartment and generally make do on my own. Well, when I say ‘on my own’ it means there was about 1% of me and 99% of God involved in the process and my younger brother has been wonderful. Thankfully, dh arrived on Monday of this week to join me in Malaysia.

I am thankful for the safe journey God gave him; it is a 13 hour flight from Nigeria to Malaysia even though there was a break at Dubai. Thank God the plane did not have any trouble in the air, there were no terrorists hijacking the plane and God brought him to me safely.

I also thank God for the man He gave to me. Dh has been so wonderful, I am beginning to wonder how I coped these past two months. In the few days since he arrived, he has taken a lot off my shoulders. I cannot thank God enough.

I just want you to know sweetheart, that you mean so much to me. I bless God with all my heart for giving me a good, strong and gentle man. You are so proud to be a child of God and help me to be a better daughter. I love the fact that you do not mind helping around the house and even though you are a man’s man, you have a sensitive soul. I will always thank God for your presence in my life. I love you.

You can participate in Thankful Thursday (or read other thankful hearts) by clicking here.

17 Comments to “Thankful Thursday – My Sweetheart”

  1. Another sweet post this morning! My husband has looked into jobs that would require deployments and the thought of him being away for any time isn’t pleasant, your post is so encouraging 🙂

    • Thank you Dana… Being apart from your husband will not be easy. But one thing I’ve discovered? God will NEVER give you more than you can handle.

  2. So glad he is safe and with you! Husbands are the best! 🙂 Thank you for sharing! Just wondering, are ya’ll missionaries there?

    • So right Heather, husbands are the best!

      Er…I don’t know if we are missionaries exactly; my husband is here for studies and I am doing some work here with a missions group. I have a missions background but I am not sure I would rightly describe myself as a missionary.

      Thanks for visiting.
      ((((Hugs))))

  3. Traveling around like that is especially hard . How nice to have someone that clearly loves you with excellence.

  4. So glad you’re back together. That’s a long time to be apart. Sweet post. Thanks for sharing. Blessings.

  5. BTW..what does ‘dh’ mean?

    I’m so happy u r happy.. only ‘B’ is left and i know God will bless her with a wonderful man as well.

    • ‘dh’ as in dear husband, dearest husband, darling husband… et cetera et cetera

      Funny you should mention ‘B’… Last night dh prayed for her that she should marry a good man! Lol

  6. sharon,

    Great post, I thank God that you are experiencing his love in your marriage. I recently spoke at my church women’s meeting on being thankful. I used 1 Thes 5:18 – in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

    I am married also and my hubby travels a lot for his job, we are easily aparts for weeks at a time. He is missed BIG TIME, once he’s back home, he rolls up his sleeves and do whatever he can to be a blessing to us all. Am thankful for him daily and he knows it becos i tell him, when you find a good man, hold on tight!

    Buky @ http://bukville.com/

    • Hi Buky,
      Thanks so much for stopping by. I visited your blog…it’s lovely.

      You are so right about holding on to a good man and I intend to hold on to mine with both hands 🙂

      Hope your hubby is home right now – I hate it when mine isn’t. I hope he doesn’t travel too much…who knows.

      Have a wonderful weekend! How’s the weather in Texas?

      • Thanks Sharon, DH is home right now, i dont even want to think of his next trip, which i know will be sometime after April 8 (DD’s birthday).
        Weather in Texas is always good, having lived in UK for 16yrs, Texas is HOT HOT.

        How is life in Malaysia?

Leave a Reply

