Dares and Challenges – Thus Far…

Monday was the first day of the Husband Encouragement Challenge and it also happened to be the day my husband arrived from Nigeria. Being the first time we were being together after two months, it was not hard to achieve the first challenge below:

To help you get started, have you ever thanked your husband for “choosing you” above all other women? He found you attractive as a person, and appreciated you. Though many circumstances in your marriage may have changed, let your husband know that you are glad God led you together, and that you want to be a blessing to him for the rest of your marriage. Let him know that he can trust you to be in his corner.

One of the best opportunities to express your gratitude is first thing in the morning. How do you greet your husband each morning? Is he confident in your love? Give him a “wake up call” that he’ll never forget-a big “I love you” and an “I’m so glad I’m your wife!”

So I am proud to say that DAY 1 went quite well.

Yesterday was good too, though I had to hold my tongue several times. The challenge for DAY 2 was:

Today, find some way that your husband is serving you or your family. Does he help around the house? Take care of the car? Fix things that are broken? If your budget allows, give him a new, small tool with a big bow attached. But make sure he doesn’t think it’s part of a “Honey Do” list!

Maybe your husband’s not a handyman, but does he run errands for you? Let you go first? Take care of you when you are sick? Help you make decisions? Praise him for his willingness to serve others. Let him know that you see his unique service as a great strength.

Well, I don’t think my husband is a handyman (strange that I don’t know that about him…). But he has been incredibly good to me. Even though he arrived on Monday and was obviously suffering the effects of jet-lag [Malaysia is 7 hours ahead of Nigeria], by the next day he did the grocery shopping for me (and got me a huge pack of my favorite chocolates ferrero rocher. Then he did the dishes for me too. Praising him was not too hard. Biting my tongue came when I had the urge to tell him how to do stuff… I am just realising that I am a bit finicky – I love things just so. I am learning to let people get to the same result via their own route; it does not always have to be exactly how I like it. It’s not an easy lesson to learn.

Coincidentally, at the Being Mrs V facebook group, we started the Love Dare yesterday. The first dare was –

Love is Patient… “Be completely humble and gentle. Be patient; bearing with one another in love.” Ephesians 4:2

Today’s Dare: Let no negative words leave your mouth. Think Good Thoughts. If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.

I am not completely sure how I did on that one. I’ll have to ask dh. I have one disturbingly pessimistic bone which I’ve done my best to christen pragmatism. I’m hoping I did not bring her out of the cupboard today.

So, that’s it folks. I will continue to update you on how it goes. Sincerely hope I do not have to come here and confess to being a failure of an encourager. If I think I’m doing a lousy job though, I promise to let you know.

Have a wonderful almost weekend!

PS. The challenge is the 30 Days Husband Encouragement Challenge and it is provided courtesy Nancy Leigh DeMoss of Revive Our Hearts.com

One thought on “Dares and Challenges – Thus Far…

Leave a Reply

