31 Days Husband Encouragement Challenge: My Intro

Encouragement. Dictionary.Com defines encouragement as:

The Frangipani - Shelter

  1. The act of encouraging
  2. The state of being encouraged
  3. One that encourages

Which leads me to try to discover just what it means to encourage.

  • to inspire with courage, spirit, or confidence
  • to stimulate by assistance, approval, etc
  • to promote, advance, or foster
  • To stimulate; spur

This week, starting from Monday, 8th March, 2010, I will begin the Husband Encouragement Challenge. This is because my husband will be arriving Kuala Lumpur from Nigeria tomorrow. He and I have been apart for a little over two months and in that time we have each grown a little different. (I believe everyone grows different each day but if you guys are together, you can grow different together).

Even though I cannot wait to finally have him here, I think somehow, I might have grown a teensy bit used to being by myself. We are newly weds and I know we are still going through the adjustment period – which I heard can be quite harrowing for some couples.

So to make the transition a bit smoother, I have decided on a Godly way to do things. I am not going to sit and wait for my husband to take the initiative in making this marriage a haven. I am not going to place responsibility for my happiness on his shoulders – regardless that they are quite broad.

Someone to hold on to

For this month, at least, I have set myself the challenge of being an encouraging wife. It is my desire to inspire my husband with courage; make him believe that there is nothing he cannot achieve. And really, the Bible does say that we can do ALL things through Christ (Philipians 4:13) even though many of us have a problem believing it.

I will learn my husband’s love languages and strive to stimulate him through assistance and approval. (I heard that a wife’s approval is really important to the husband.) I want him to be the best that he can be. I know that it is only God who can make this possible in anyone, but with support and encouragement, it is easier to be more open to God’s leading. This is my motive for doing the Husband Encouragement Challenge.

The 30 Days Husband Encouragement Challenge was created by Nancy Leigh DeMoss of Revive Our Hearts.com. It is a challenge I once took, before I married my husband, while we were still dating (You can read about that challenge here). In January, courtesy of the Being Mrs V facebook group, I went through the 31 Days of Prayer for Your Husband. We were still living on two different continents then so I felt prayer might be more effective. If you are on facebook, join us this month for the Love Dare!

I will try to chronicle my observations and experiences each day on this blog, but if I’m not able to do it on a daily basis I will still put up a summary once a week. If you would like to try your hands at this challenge, here’s a link to the pdf. The 30 Days Wife Encouragement Challenge is also available from The Anniversary Shop (it’s free), you can send an email to Claudia [at] theanniversaryshop [dot] com for a copy of the pdf.

The Rules of Engagement

The White Chrysanthemum symbolizes truth and loyal love

You can’t say anything negative about your husband …
to your husband…
or to anyone 

else,

about your husband.


Say something that you admire or appreciate about your husband…
to your husband…
and to someone else,
about your husband!

Photo credit: chamomile from morguefile.com
5 Responses to “31 Days Husband Encouragement Challenge: My Intro”

  1. This is crap. I found out that my wife was doing this and I feel totally worthless. Instead of her doing these things because she loves me or is making an effort on her own she hides behind some program to make herself feel better. As long as she follows the steps then she’s off the hook for making any other kind of effort in our relationship. F*** that and f*** this program too.

    • Hi Joe,

      I am sorry your wife’s doing this made you feel worthless. That was probably not her intention. It certainly isn’t mine towards my husband. I want to encourage him because I love him and I do make the effort on my own. Still, we tend to take those we love for granted many times. It is a human failing.

      This program really does not make us feel better, at least it did not make me feel better. It made me feel bad because I saw many areas in which I was dropping the ball; failing to give my husband what he needs.

      It is sad that you feel the way you do about your wife doing this ‘program’. However, you might want to check that out. The feeling of worthlessness was probably there even before you found out about her doing the program.

      • And you know what Joe, you really think these stuff makes us feel better? Telling your man who shows scat appreciation for you that you appreciate him?! If your wife loves you enough to put herself through this, I think you need to be on your knees showing her the love and appreciation she needs instead of thinking the whole world should be about you. If you have issues with her, talk it over. Preferable without using any swear words.

  2. I’m sorry you feel that way Joe, but sounds to me like you’re not looking at this the way it’s intended. It’s meant to encourage growth in the wife to be a better spouse, person and spiritual being. I think your wife is commendable for attempting to be a better wife for you and for herself. What’s wrong with that?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

