Let’s Pray – Marriage Monday

The morning after our wedding, my new husband and I moved to the dining area of the hotel suite. There, we decided how we wanted our mornings to be. I brought out my Bible and he used the Gideon’s Bible provided by the Hotel. We decided to start from the beginning; Genesis 1. I read and we both shared. We exchanged prayer points and he prayed. We set the pattern for our ‘Family Devotions’.

It was easy enough to keep up during the honeymoon. Where we had problems was when we went back to everyday life. Most times he had to rush out in the morning and even when we had time like during weekends, we seemed to prefer Snuggle Time to Prayer Time. Then I noticed that most times I had to prompt a little before we had our devotions.

Despite all that, I think my husband is a bit of a prayer warrior. I am quite passionate in my prayers, but I have this nasty habit of worrying and planning and analyzing and doing everything else before I finally pray. My husband on the other hand is a bit different. When things seem to overwhelm us, he just looks at me and says ‘Let’s Pray.’ It’s as simple as that. Then he holds me in his arms and prays.

I cherish those times especially as we are so far apart right now. Not like distance stops him. When I’m complaining about something that isn’t working or we hear about an Uncle or cousin who is not doing alright…as we communicate daily on the phone, he still stops and says ‘Let’s Pray.‘ And that makes all the difference to me.

We see God work daily in our lives. As many times as it happens, I am still delightfully surprised when we ask God for something and He does exactly that! I’m blown away. It seems to me that praying with my husband is more effective that when I was praying alone. We see God’s hands in almost every aspect of our lives. He does not always give us what we ask for; but it is easier for me to trust and know deep in my heart that God knows what He’s about.

Join us for Marriage Monday. Click the button below

1st Monday Every Month at Chrysalis

Want this button?

22 thoughts on “Let’s Pray – Marriage Monday

  1. I find it surprising that although I would say I am more comfortable praying aloud…my husband is more likely to just say, “Let’s Pray” when we really should…He doesn’t waste time worrying and fretting like me. Interesting that we’re alike in that regard! Hope your day is blessed!

    1. Wow! we sure are alike in that regard. Thank God for Prayer Warrior husbands (even if they don’t know that they are prayer warriors).

      Thanks for visiting.
      Blessings

  2. A marvellous post! I’d love to meet your husband. He seems very secure and unashamed to admit need… an admirable and endearing quality in any man. :~D

    God bless your Chrisitan marriage! And thanks for joining us for Marriage Monday, today Sharon.

    Hugs, e-Mom

    1. Hi e-Mom, I would like for you to meet him too. He has a humility even he is unaware of.

      Thank you for hosting Marriage Monday. I really enjoy participating.

      Have a wonderful week ahead!

  3. Oh how sweet! What a blessing that is. I have a sister who does the exact same thing to me.

    As soon as I mention a need comes the words,

    “hey, let’s pray”.

    Blessings to you and your hubby!!

    Great post~

    1. Hi Susan,

      You are so blessed! Wish I had a sister but alas, I’m the only girl. I try to do that for my girlfriends though.

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. God bless you.

  4. “He does not always give us what we ask for; but it is easier for me to trust and know deep in my heart that God knows what He’s about.”

    This is a powerful statement, Sharon. Am I understanding you correctly that praying with your husband has given you a deeper trust in God? Wow.

    1. Hi Tami,

      As amazing as it sounds, it’s so true. Praying with my husband has given me a deeper trust in God. I am able to rest and feel at peace after we’ve prayed about a troubling issue. It came as a major surprise to me.

Leave a Reply

