Getting Back on the Horse

I have not blogged for months and have been trying to find the words with which to resume blogging. It has not been easy, but I guess the only way is to … Just do it! So here I am months later, wading my way through the waters of several eventful months, struggling to find a coherent form of expression.

So many things happened in the past few months I don’t even know where to start from. First of all, I found myself struggling with my faith, questioning several things I had been taught from childhood. It was a really traumatic experience for me and I did not feel that I could keep blogging about faith when I had so little of it myself. But I had to learn to accept that I was not perfect and to love me anyway; to learn to see myself as God sees me, through the eyes of love. I cannot say I am there yet, but then, I am a work in progress.

Then I got married to my sweetheart and the love of my life.  It was not an easy relationship , but there was no denying the love. Well, I got married, moved away from home then moved over to a whole new continent. So there’s a whole lot to blog about and if I do not start now, I might never be able to.

I recently began studying the book of Proverbs and it’s amazing how there’s always a word of wisdom for everyday. I am staying at a ministry Guest House in Kuala Lumpur thanks to some very good friends. Funds are tight and I have been watching my purse. Anyway, we got some new guests last night. This morning I woke up and read a chapter from Proverbs as usual. Then I heard movement from the kitchen and started a mini panic; my supplies! I moaned to myself, I don’t have money to buy more! Then the words from my devotion this morning came to me:

One man gives freely,
yet gains even more;
another withholds unduly,
but comes to poverty.
A generous man will prosper;
he who refreshes others
will himself be refreshed.
Proverbs 11:24-25 (NKJV)

So that came back to me and instantly I felt ashamed of myself. God is the one who provides anyway and if He asks me to share what He has so freely given, who am I to say No?

One other thing, if you are on facebook, we created an event where we are doing Nancy Leigh DeMoss‘ 31 Days of Prayer for Your

30 day prayer challenge

Taking time out to pray even if you have not met 'Mr Right'

Husband with a spin. We broadened it and instead of ‘husband’ we used ‘Man’. So it’s 30 Days of Prayer for Your Man; this is to take in those who are not yet married. Feel free to join us. You can pray anywhere and anytime; it’s just nice to know that there are other women out there praying with you – over 2000 of them!

Now that I’ve placed my fingers on the keyboard (I wanted to say ‘pen to paper’), it will be so much easier especially as I have so much to blog about already. I try to keep a daily journal (the old fashioned kind in a notebook) of my experiences in this new place I’ve found myself. It promises to be an interesting year.

On that note, Happy New Year all!

Leave a Reply

