Real Peace – no matter what

peaceful

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,

when sorrows like sea billows roll;

whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,

It is well, it is well with my soul.

courtesy Hymns.me.uk

I have always loved that hymn; over the years it has meant so much to me. I’d close my eyes and sing or hum it; and as tears roll down my face, I’d feel the peace of God sweep over my being. What a privilege to be able to say in the midst of troubles, sorrows and deep chasms of confusion ‘it is well with my soul’. That no matter what I face, I know my soul is fine.

The past week was particularly hectic and as a whole, the past couple of months have brought me close to breaking point. Just when I am about to get to that point where I can sigh and say it is well with my soul (and truly mean it), I take another hit. But you know what? I know my Redeemer lives. And even if I cannot bring myself to sing it right now, I know deep in my heart, it is well with my soul.

2 Comments to “Real Peace – no matter what”

  1. Beautiful and true beyone measure!

  2. Thank you Karin – God IS always true!

Leave a Reply

