A Birthday and a Family Dinner

July 7th was my mum’s birthday; she turned 52. Really hard to believe because she has consistently refused to age.

My brothers and I were out all day. We came back much later in the evening and found her in the kitchen trying to prepare dinner. We didn’t think the ‘birthday girl’ should be making her own birthday dinner so we all shooed her out of the kitchen and took over. We prepared ‘jollof spaghetti’ (I think it’s probably a Nigerian thing), peppered  chicken and cole slaw. While I took over the bulk of the cooking, my baby brother and my cousin handled the salad. For dessert, the  boys had bought a chocolate cake and a fruit cake. It was wonderful because everyone pitched in.

My mum was so happy she said she wished her birthday was every week. Very funny.

It’s nice to have these family times every now and then. Time flies so fast; if we don’t spend some time making memories we’ll end up with bankrupt years…

coleslaw, jollof spaghetti & peppered chicken
coleslaw, jollof spaghetti & peppered chicken
Leave a Reply

