Michal – A Novel

Michal by Jill Eileen Smith
Michal by Jill Eileen Smith

I have not read this book yet. But it is definitely on my To Read list. Not because I love the author – I haven’t read any of her books so I can’t really say if I’ll like her or not. But because of the subject matter.

My family and I regularly read through the Bible in our Bible Devotions. Recently we came to the story of Michal and it really affected me in a way I cannot explain.

Here was this girl, the King’s daughter. A Princess. I guess she was really valuable in the eyes of her father – afterall, he offered her as a reward to a warrior. I could not get past it. Did he ask her if she wanted to be offered that way? What if she was already in love with someone else? Did he even care? She was just chattel, albeit a valuable one. But then, all women were chattel.

The she went and fell in love with her father’s chief enemy – even though it was her father who gave her to the man in the first place. But he probably thought she would be willing to kill the man fo him; he did not reckon with the fact that she could fall in love with her husband. And that’s exactly what she did. When he realised that his life was in danger, David (Michal’s husband) was forced to flee the palace. That’s when Michal’s troubles began.

Out of anger, her father took her and gifted her to another man. I kept wondering how she felt about that. Here she was, in love with her husband yet forced to ‘marry’ another man. Well, like any woman of her time (and this time too come to think of it), she settled in and came to care for her new husband. But then, things had changed in the Kingdom.

Her father, the King, was dead. There was war in the land and David, her former husband was now King. And he wanted his wife back. Even though he already had several others, Michal was his first love. The story of how Michal was practically torn from her current husband’s arms and dragged to her former husband’s was pathetic. I had tears in my eyes reading about how the Husband No.2 was wailing as he trailed afer his wife. I had many questions too:

  1. Did she have children with Hubby No.2?
  2. Was she asked if she wanted to go back to No.1?
  3. How could a woman be treated so abominably?

I just didn’t get it. So now, a book is out, telling us something about Michal. I am definitely going to read it if I can lay my hands on it! Will it shed more light on the biblical story? I really don’t know.

If you would like to read the story of Michal in the Bible, it’s found in 1 Samuel 18, 19, 25, 2 Samuel 3 & 6. You could check Bible Gateway.com to read it online.

Leave a Reply

