When Death Comes Knockin

tombstone

I woke up this morning with a text message from a friend, Michael Jackson was dead. At first I could not believe it. I’m not exactly an MJ fan, but I went through that stage in my teens when I thought he was God’s deputy or something (maybe I would have thought he was God but my mum’s training was too deeply entrenched for that). And so this icon/idol is finally gone. I did not think he would live forever, it’s just that MJ has always been on the periphery of my life. He’s almost like a family member, a distant relative you think of once in a while and maybe haven’t seen in years.

MJ’s death started me thinking: How do I want folks to react when I finally die?

  • if my sweetheart is reading this, I’m sorry. I know you hate thinking of me dieing – but I think about it a lot. This is MJ’s death – excuse me for writing about it today.

I do not want people to be happy that I’ve died – definitely not. But I don’t want them sad and crying either. And I definitely don’t want them to wear black. If I could choose a colour people would wear to my funeral, I’d choose green for a couple of reasons:

  1. Green has increasingly become my favourite colour and
  2. Green represents life. Death is not the end, it is actually a beginning and sometimes, death needs to happen for life to begin.

However, I would not choose a colour for my funeral because that would have the same effect as wearing black. I would like the dress code to be casual-comfortable though.

I would like all those around to treat my life as a gift, a precious gift. If my life was a gift to them, they would not dwell on the fact that I am gone but that I was there at all. I don’t know if I’m making sense. When our dog Jack died, we missed him so much. But even though our eyes might have misted every now and then, thinking of him, we did not go into mourning. That would have been an insult to Jack’s memory. He was full of life and very protective of us (the kids). He was our friend and playmate in a place where children were really scarce. When I think of him, it’s usually with a fond smile on my face. That’s what I want.

Think of me with a fond smile on your face, thanking the Good Lord for a treasure like me. Of course that means I’m going to have to work hard at being a treasure in the lives of those around me.

2 Comments to “When Death Comes Knockin”

  1. Ah Sweetie, you already ARE a treasure!

  2. Aww Karin… thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

