Baba – Cafe Chat

Baba is what we call our fathers here in Nigeria. Of course many tribes have different versions: papa, epa, ba etc. But for the majority of us, it’s BABA. Which is why when we want to get real personal with God, we call him Baba. This connotes a closer and more intimate relationship.

Oh BTW,

Cafe Chat is now on Thursdays (although I’m a bit late). This week’s question is below

So today, I ask you what does it mean that you are able to call God your Father? Really think about this one, and then just let your words flow from your heart…

When I read the question above, this passage in John 1:12 came immediately to my head:

But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. (NLT)

Having the right to call God, the Most High Baba is a concept that makes me really emotional. It is also a concept I am just gradually coming into. I have related to God on many levels but my favourite was as my friend. But although He is constant, He is not static and His ways of relating to me constantly change. Of late, I have been enjoying His fathering. Where do I start from? A father to me, signifies the follwing:

  • A provider
  • An Instructor
  • A Comforter
  • My role model

God has been all that to me and more.

See, a good father always wants what is best for his children, even if it distresses them at the time. I remember when my dad used to spank me, he would always say that it hurt him more than it did me. I hated that phrase cos I didn’t believe him. But I think he’s got the right of it. God wants GOOD things for His children (“Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?” Matthew 7:9&8 NIV)

That aside, with God as my father, there is nothing I need that I will not get. He did say He would supply ALL my needs according to His glorious riches (Philippians 4:19). To me, that covers everything; my spiritual needs, my emotional needs, physical needs, intellectual needs…. every sphere in which I might need something, He’s right there – at the point of need.

Sometimes I think when I have to go through some really difficult stuff, it hurts God. I know there are times He’s told me to take a road and I meet grief on that road; when that happenes, I climb unto my bed and imagine I’m climbing unto His laps and just weep. I remind Him that it’s all His fault cos He told me to take that step.

Having God as a father means that He understands me. He knows that when I start moaning and groaning about something He wants me to do it does not mean that I don’t respect Him. It just means that I’m comfortable enough with Him to be Me.

What does it mean to have the Lord of all the universe as my own personal Baba? I really can’t explain it in one blogpost. But if you have anything to add, please check in at the Cafe chat for the week.

God bless!

3 thoughts on “Baba – Cafe Chat

  1. @ Kim – thank you so much for stopping by. You are a blessing!

    @ Brook – Thanks for the kind words. Don’t worry, the words will come. It is an overwhelming concept though.

Leave a Reply

