My Thankful Heart

Look, I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you.

Luke 10:19

I have read this passage several times, fact it was one of the popular Memory Verses when I was in Sunday School as a child. Yet I have been stung by a scorpion. Twice. So did that mean that the verse didn’t hold true? I don’t know.

A lot of folks prefer to translate the Bible in an abstract manner. I am a bit more literal. If he said I will step on snakes and nothing’s going to happen, then that is what I expect to happen. If it does not go that way, I guess it means my faith was not big enough. Or whatever.

Well, last week I had a literal experience. I had just had my bath and reached for the towelling robe which was hanging on a nail in my bathroom. Just as I tightened the sash on my waist, something fell out of my hand. I looked down and saw a scorpion scurrying away. Now I’m not the screaming kind of girl, but the scream I let out would have broken a window! I screamed and screamed to the extent that one part of me was staring at the screaming part of me and wondering if she had lost it.

Anyway, my brother and a cousin were in the house with me so they ran into the bathroom (I had the presence of mind to secure my bathrobe). When I told them I saw a scorpion they began to tease me. Was I sure it wasn’t a cockroach? Or maybe an ant?? I just rolled my eyes and got them to work searching for that vermin! Long and short, they found it and killed it dead. I don’t even want to imagine what would have happened if I’d gotten stung again. If there’s anything to shake the blues off a girl, it’s an experience like that.

The Scorpion who didn't get away!
The Scorpion who didn't get away!
4 thoughts on “My Thankful Heart

  1. So maybe you need to trust in God more so that you won’t shout that loud the next time! believe in the word and trust him for anything He says though his bible!

  2. that gives me the whillies..I’ve heard the sting of a scorpion really hurts. Maybe you could blog about when you were stung. I don’t have them here in Iowa.

  3. Karin Glad I made you smile… and yes, I am too glad I didn’t get stung!

    Mikes – Hmm, you have a point. But when you have been stung before you kind of panic before you remember… Thanks for stopping by though. Have a wonderful day!

    DM – I’m not sure I want to blog about that…it really does hurt! But I’ll think about it.

Leave a Reply

