Learning a New Thing

562417_machineThis week I am finally taking the plunge and buying myself a sewing machine! I have been saving for some months and I have finally completed the amount I need.

Now I do not know how to sew – yet. However, I have a friend who quilts and she’s willing to teach me how to do that. She says she cannot teach me how to sew because no one taught her, she was self taught. So I’m buing a whole lot of needles (as per her advice) and I’m going to try to teach myself how to sew as I also learn how to quilt.

I have always wanted to learn how to sew – for as long as I remember. I prefer it to crocheting and knitting because with sewing you can almost immediately, begin to see what progress you are making. I get bored when I knit and crochet.

I have this funny idea that everyone should have at least one hand skill. I really can’t say where I got the idea from but it’s been with me since my early teens. I always imagined a situation where my degree was useless and I needed to make an income somehow; wouldn’t it pay if I knew a skill? So now, after years of thinking about it and talking about it, I’m finally going to be the proud owner of a sewing machine.

I don’t know if it’s possible to learn sewing online. If it is, and you know any helpful sites, I would be eternally grateful!

4 Responses to “Learning a New Thing”

  1. I’m excited to see how the Lord will lead you in this new adventure. Not only quilting, but perhaps you’ll be designing clothing too. God can do anything when we allow Him to,

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

