Walking the Beam – Cafe Chat


This week’s question from the Cafe Chat is evocative. All Kim‘s questions make you look inward but on this week’s menu is some deep soul reflection. The question:

In light of the Francis Chan video, how do you live out your Christian walk with Jesus? Do you always play it safe? Or do you take risks?

In one or two sentences, what do you want to be said of you, and how you lived out your life for Jesus when your time on earth is finished.

First of all, here’s the video by Francis Chan

In living out my Christian walk with Jesus, I must confess that the over-cautious side of my nature comes to play. I seek assurances, guarantees and even safety nets. I want to know that nothing is going to go wrong, or if something does go wrong there is a back up plan. I am very big on back-up plans.

Last year when I felt God asking me to move back home and give a year in full-time ministry, I began making back-up plans. Sure I was brought up to live on faith, but I had been depending on a salary for the past two years, I did not want to go home and have to ask my parents for everything. So I started looking around for what I could do, I decided I was going to start baking on the side for some extra cash and I began running around.

My parents watched me without saying a word. One evening my mum called me to the dining table (that’s where we have our heart to hearts. Girl, she began, what did God tell you? Did he say he couldn’t meet your needs? Why don’t you give him some time, test him and see if he leaves you needy.

I felt totally deflated. I knew what she was saying but I was also very sad. How could God do this to me; make me go out on a limb without any rope for safety. After a sleepless night, I decided to let him have his way. That was 8 months ago and I have no cause to complain. In fact, let me let you in on a secret, I’m living better than when I earned a salary.

For my God will supply all your needs according to his riches in glory. (Philipians 4:19)

When my time on earth is finished, this is what I want to be said of my walk with Jesus:

“She took God literally.”

8 thoughts on “Walking the Beam – Cafe Chat

  1. He IS our safety net, and He’s been proving that to you for this last little while. Know that you do indeed hear His voice. I’ll cheer you on and encourage you too!

    blessings upon blessings,

    Karin

  2. That is an awesome testimony! Praise God for His supply and faithfulness! Thank you for sharing this with us.

    I just joined the discussion. I hope you’ll come over for a visit.

Leave a Reply

