Something for the Week

somthing-for-the-week

Praise the Lord … Not one word has failed of all the wonderful promises he gave through his servant Moses. May the Lord our God be with us as he was with our ancestors; may he never leave us or abandon us.

1 Kings 8:56-57 (NLT)

The verse above is part of a prayer by King Solomon of Israel, the son of King David. It means a lot to me and always touches a chord in my heart each time I read it in the Bible. It gives me great comfort. It is sometimes hard to hold unto what the Lord has promised, either through his word or to me personally. Many times things get tough and it is almost impossible to feel the presence of the Lord or to experience what he has promised, but I am reassured because he does not ever fail. Not ever. Every last one of his promises to me will com through.

Still, I am realising something; even though he has promised me one thing or the other, I cannot afford to just sit and fold my arms and expect to get that promise. Oh, it does happen like that sometimes, but not often. This is because there is an enemy, the devil who will try anything to do me out of my right; he will steal, trick and outrightly take by force – if I let him. And that is the key. IF I LET HIM!

As a child (and not a servant), I need to stand by what has been promised to me and make my claim. No one is going to cheat me of what my Heavenly Father has promised. I will take my stand and do my utmost to not present the enemy with a loophole through which he can get around the promises God has made to me. This means that I need to watch myself…when I sin, I need to run back immediately to my Heavenly Father and report myself and ask His forgiveness. That way, the devil cannot use my humanness to steal from me.

The promises of God are sure. If you are privileged to have had parents that knew (know) the Lord, and they are still on this side of life, ask them what promises the Lord made to them – you can claim them too. To my dad he promised that his children will be alright. So when I’m struggling and things are getting impossible for me, I remind the Lord but you promised my dad I’ll be alright!

That’s something for you to ponder this week; what promises has the Lord made to you or your family? Search the Bible for some of them and remind Him of those promises. He does not tell lies; if He said He will, then He will!

'Something for the Week' is a weekly post. If you have read anything inspirational
that may encourage anyone this week, please leave a comment and be a blessing to others.
2 thoughts on “Something for the Week

  1. Amen! He is true to His promises and His Word, as it is written “God is not a man, that He should lie; neither the son of man, that He should repent: when He hath said, will He not do it? or when He hath spoken, will He not make it good?” Numbers 23:19

Leave a Reply

