Walking the Talk – Cafe Chat

Today at the Internet Cafe, Kim wrote about learning to walk the talk; I would have to post what she wrote below so that you get the idea:

“When, because of your faith, your life too becomes perceptibly different; when your reactions are quite opposite to what the situation seems to call for and your activities can no longer be explained in terms of your personality; that is when your neighborhood will sit up and take notice. In the eyes of the world, it is not our relationship with Jesus Christ that counts; it is our resemblance to him!

Oh I definitely agree. When I was little, I loved going to my dad’s office. He had this Notice Board that had all sorts of funny things to read on them. There was one clipping however which got my attention. It read

Be careful how you live your life, you might be the only Bible someone has to read.

Years, in fact two decades later, it is something that continuously resounds in my heart. Most people do not really care what my relationship with Jesus is. In fact, in a country as religious as Nigeria, most of those I mingle with claim to be Christians (Born-again and all). The difference though is in the way we live our lives. I have had people walk up to me and ask me what my problem was…whether I thought I was the only one who was a Christian. This was because I did not date till much later while I was at the university. The irony though was that it was not anything religious that stopped me from dating, I just did not feel emotionally ready to handle it all. Yet this girl thought I was trying to be ‘more Christian’ than the Apostles.

One other thing I’ve found strange is how people who are self proclaimed atheists or just not interested in Jesus seem to know how someone with a relationship with Jesus should act. They have even higher expectations and get disappointed when we do not walk the talk.

When all is said and done, I disappoint myself constantly. I am really very impatient…but I try to keep that a secret (right!). I struggle with it and stifle the reactions I might have had. Sometimes though, my temper gets the best of me and instead of acting with maturity and poise, I lose it. And that is just the stuff people can see. In my private and secret life, I do things I know I would be ashamed of if they were brought to light; I think thoughts I would rather the earth opened and swallowed me before I let anyone else know. . . I fall short of the expectations the Lord has for his daughter and I know that I am not walking my talk.

4 thoughts on “Walking the Talk – Cafe Chat

  1. Thanks for participating today and sharing your story… Blessings…

    FYI: The quote came out of my Bible Study… Anyone that wants to know where the quote came from, check out today’s Cafe Chat at the Internet Cafe…

  2. Thank you for stopping by. I really love participating and reading others’ take on the same subject matter. Thanks also for the referencing…

Leave a Reply

