Me…Through His Eyes

Who does God see when He looks at you? This was the question the girls and I tackled last week. I asked them to keep journals and had told them to write down who they think God sees when He looks at them and boy, they came up with all sorts of answers. These are some of them:

I think God sees me as someone to impact lives…

When God sees me I think he sees someone indispensable…someone who cannot be replaced

I believe I am destined to fulfill a mission…

I am someone he has designed to work for Him in a special way…

Our text was from the Bible; Jeremiah 1:5

“I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb.
Before you were born I set you apart
and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.”
(NLT)

Then I asked the question: How do you reconcile a God who knows about stuff with the bad things that happen?

There was silence for a while as they pondered on the question. Even I had no answer…eventually though, they began to speak one after the other. The conclusion was that when bad things happen they are usually to

  • prepare us for a future occurrence
  • teach us how to tackle bigger problems i.e. to gain experience
  • teach us lesson(s)
  • teach us to help others

One thing which came up clearly though, was that even though God had high expectations for us, He could not ever be disappointed with us because even before we made mistakes, He knew we were going to make them and had prepared for that. knowing that God, who knows all our imperfections, our flaws and mistakes still says that we are wonderfully made is a wonder! Looking at ourselves that way, we began to see women who were

  • worth loving (Jeremiah 31:3)
  • unforgettable
  • to die for (1 John 3:16)
  • to fight for (Isaiah 41:12)

This was a bit hard to comprehend as one of the girls pointed out: If she was so unforgettable, how come she prayed and prayed but sometimes never got what she prayed for? It is a question that a lot of people ask. When I was in Sunday School, I was taught that God ALWAYS answered…only sometimes He answered to say NO. Other times it might be WAIT. It was not always a Yes despite what our desires were. The only time a person prayed and God did not answer was when there was sin in that person’s life blocking the airwaves. And that was easily taken care of with a prayer for forgiveness…that He would listen to.

On the whole we had a good time. The week before that, I had asked them to tell me who they thought they were. The reason for this is that until we know ourselves and we get to understand how God sees us, we would have problems with self acceptance and self worth; anybody would be able to define an identity for us and because we have no awareness of our core being, we have nothing to hold onto.

Affirmations

I am worth Loving

I am unforgettable

I am to die for

I am to fight for

Leave a Reply

