10 Things

It’s 10 Things Tuesday and I’m late again. Even though it’s friday, I will still post this cos it does not have to be a Tuesday to be thankful. Mrs Brownstone can testify to that!

Green Pastures: We had our first honeymooners. Yay! They left this morning and had a lovely time. It was sweet watching them; they were clearly in love and looking forward to marital bliss. We prayed for them… I wish them the best!

img_3460Castle Mia: Some castle…but it’s mine anyway and I love it! It is a privilege to have a place like this where I can have some ‘me’ time.

Friends: My friends are a great gift from God – the old and the new…they add a little more spice to each day

Peace: The capital of Plateau State in Nigeria has been awash in a blood bath. Over 2000 lives have been lost; property worth millions, destroyed and several people (some of whom I personally know) have been made homeless, they have become refugees in their own country. It has been a devastating experience all round and there are still secret killings going on. It is sad what the effects of greed, religious intolerance and ethnocentrism can be. My family and I live on the outskirts of town, about forty-five minutes drive. None of the violence has come our way and I can only see this as the mercy of God.

Life: So many people lost theirs and it should not take a tragedy like this to make me grateful for mine.

The Weather: It rained yesterday, which is very weird. We are in the middle of the harmattan season and in this area of Nigeria the rains stop in October and do not resume till April/May. Yesterday’s rain was a special surprise and the weather is fantastic! It’s cool, breezy, crisp and fresh.

Power: we had a power outage which lasted 48 hours. It was terrible…luckily my mum has a gas cooker. I however, had to bring out my kerosene stove even to heat water to have a bath! Thank God power has been restored and life can now go back to normal.

Benjy: My little car has been super. He gave me a bit of a problem yesterday though; for no reason at all, he just stopped working and refused to start. So I opened the hood, came out of the car, picked up a stone and hit the battery. Believe it or not he started at the next try! I felt so cool with myself!

Nescafe: mmm…instant coffee has it’s benefits.

Food: With the crisis in the state, that’s a little hard to come by. But God has been faithful and we’ve not gone hungry!
XBOX Wife Ten Things Tuesday

6 Comments to “10 Things”

  1. Hi Sharon:

    The hand of our Lord is surely upon you, keeping you safe. It saddens me to think of all the killing and intolerance, for I know it saddens Him! What a special gift His rain was for you, a blessing out of season.
    Thank you for the way you bless others with your comments, words and heart.

  2. Sharon, I just read your post…had no idea of the level of unrest in your capital..wow..Keep us posted.

  3. Hi Karin, thank you so much for stopping by. It is sad especially since the truth behind the crisis has nothing to do with religious intolerance…it is just a facade for power – hungry individuals to wreck their havoc. Oh well, God is in control and I rely on that.

  4. DM hi…I’m not surprised you have not heard about it. The BBC and CNN just gave a cursory coverage. It amazes me that less than 200 people died in India and there has been on the hour reporting for the past two weeks, meanwhile almost 3000 people are dead, several injured and more than 30 000 displaced in one city in Nigeria and almost nobody wants to say anything about it. I wonder why. Please keep us in your prayers…

  5. through every thing…I see you still remember your faith…that is what’s important. God Bless you!

  6. Thank you Linda…God bless you too!

Leave a Reply

