World AIDS Day

My assistant has not been to work in the past month; she’s been ill. The truth is that she is always ill. All the months she worked with me, she took a day off each month to meet a doctor’s appointment. She is hard working but could not do too much hard work. I kept asking her what exactly was wrong with her and each time I asked, she would become fidgety and reply that she was a patient so there were many things wrong with her.

This time around, she has been gone for more than a month. She’s not at her house and I have no idea where she is. Her phone is not going through, though she called to let me know she’s getting better. I think she is HIV positive though she will not tell me anything. I can understand though, why she is so reticent.

Being HIV Positive has become a stigma. People immediately want to keep their distance. Rather ignorantly, it is associated with sexual promiscuity… People get judgmental. But anyone could get infected with HIV/AIDS; it certainly does not choose who to afflict. However this disease does not get transmitted from sharing a hug or even smiling at someone who is infected.

I really wish my assistant would open up to me. I’m not saying I can do much to help, but I can let her know that I’ll accept and love her, regardless.

Bloggers Unite

Update

I heard from my assistant and she’s okay. She no longer works with me though, the work was too strenuous for her, so she’s moved on. I still don’t know if indeed she’s HIV positive or not and one way or the other, it’s not that important. I miss her but I’m glad to know she’s fine and happy. And I was really touched that she came herself to see me. So for those that prayed, thank you very much.

Tags: , , ,

4 Comments to “World AIDS Day”

  1. Thanks for sharing this…..as I was reading, I was thinking that even if she is HIV positive, no one knows the facts, there are many ways to become HIV positive. Just as there are many ways a person can become a single parent. I think that way too many people “put 2 & 2 together” for themselves and are judgemental rather than accepting people for who they are and showing Christ’s love to them. I’m glad you are in her life and can show her Christ’s love.

  2. This is so tough. Keep us posted on how she is doing, will ya? I had two uncles who had AIDS….

  3. Thank you Neverforsaked for your comment…it really is sad the way people are so quick to leap into funny conclusions… I’ll keep praying for her and please keep her in your prayers too. God bless!

    @Ro Once I manage to get in touch with her, I’ll do just that. She’s gone into hiding and once in a while she calls to let me know she’s ok but that’s it.

  4. I have a few blogs and would love to spread the word through them so if you want to advertise for on my site send me a 125 x 125 banner and i will put it on right away, maybe you can put a link of mine on yours please http://voiceofbragg.com or http://www.voiceofbragg.com or http://mychristiandiary.blogspot.com….thank you…

Leave a Reply

