All I Need – Cafe Chat

If you were deserted on an island for 1 year with absolutely no connection to the outside world (not even one person), what 3 things would you bring with you?

This is the question for this week’s cafe chat. I did not have to think about it – not really.

  1. My Bible: This choice is not for any holy or pious reason…There were times when the words and promises from the Bible were the only things that kept me going. For the sake of my sanity (1year without any contact whatsoever…no internet!!!!!!!!) I will need my Bible. I will need to keep reminding myself that God has said he will never fail me and will never abandon me (Hebrews 13:5b NLT). When it becomes dark and I start to get scared because I don’t know what wild and exotic animals are lurking around, then I’ll need to tell my heart that even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid because [HE] is with me…[HE] protects and comforts me. The Bible for me, is more than just something to read, or something I’ll take along to make me feel like a good christian, it is LIFE.My Sanity
  2. A Giant Notebook: If I can’t write, I’m not sure I want to breathe. It seems extreme, but that is how I feel. I’ve been writing stories since I was 6 years old. I started keeping a journal when I was 12 and I still keep one. It is essential for me to be able to record my thoughts, my observations… And with one year on my side… who knows, I could write several bestsellers!  
  3. A Jumbo Sized, Extra Looong Pencil: For the same reason above, I’ll need something to write with. If I take a pen, the ink might finish so I’ll take a pencil with me. And don’t worry about sharpening the pencil, I live in a developing nation…we have ways of keeping the tip of a pencil sharp without a sharpener. Necessity will become the mother of my invention.

I can’t wait to read what others have written. . . if you would like to read different takes on this question, head over to www.internetcafedevotions.com. Bye for now.

3 thoughts on “All I Need – Cafe Chat

  1. Sharon,

    I was thinking about a pencil instead of a pen, for the ink may run out, but then wondered if I’d be able to sharpen the pencil……

    I agree with you that writing is like breathing, something that some of us find hard to live without.

    I wonder what I would do if God asked me to give it up? So far He only urges me onward.

    blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

