Always Him – Cafe Chat

The catchphrase “It’s not about me” has become quite popular in our current world today. What does that phrase mean to you in your personal life? Explain.

When I read this week’s topic, this verse immediately came to my heart:

For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. (Philippians 1:21)

This catchphrase has always served as a major reminder in my life. The first is contained in the verse above. I am a control freak; at least I have been called that several times. So giving over my life – plans, dreams, ambitions, everything over to the Lord has been a constant battle for me. Just when I think I have finally surrendered it all, I find myself struggling with more control issues. My life is like a Chariot with several horses attached to it. There are two riders inside this chariot, Me and Jesus. I am holding on to the reins trying desparately to control the high spirted horses but they are beyond my control, they drag me ruthlessly this way and that. Meanwhile, the expert horseman is there right beside me, silently waiting for me to hand over the reins. When I finally get exhausted, I hand them over to him. Just two for a start, I still keep holding on to the rest, can’t afford to lose control.

That has been my life. I give up one rein and then congratulate myself for surrendering to His will, only to look at my hands and see even more reins held tight in them. So when I see the phrase “it’s not about me”, it helps me to remember that my life is not about what I want or what I think it should be, but is about the One who made me in the first place and His plans for me.

The Second reminder comes from my tendency to be self centered. I value my space and my privacy so much it is almost religious! For instance, when I am lost in a good book and my brother comes to disturb me with one tale or the other, I have to take a deep breath and remind myself that it is not about my enjoyment of the book; it is not even about my space or my time… It is not about me! It is about someone who needs a listening ear, a little compassion and maybe some advice. About friends and family and laughing together and just being there. So I push my book aside and give my full attention. There’s no chance of my swinging to the other side and not giving myself any time; trust me, I’m too self centered for that.

So that’s it for this week’s cafe chat. On my side anyway. If you would like to read more or even participate, simply click the icon below. God bless!

7 thoughts on “Always Him – Cafe Chat

  1. Blessings Sharon…Thank you for sharing honestly and from your heart! Great illustration with the reins! I don’t see myself as a control freak but I also think I’ve surrendered to find out that I still have more to let go of and allow HIM full control.

    You inspired me to share. I’m on the list but you just can’t see
    me, Laurie Ann, Amanda Bowers and who knows else…hope it gets fixed. It’s been a while since our paths have crossed. I finished my 30 day husband challenge. It’s all on my blog for the month of August! The prayer one was better than the encouragement one! I think I should have done it like you BEFORE I married! (lol) Have a wonderful Sunday! http://mazmagi.blogspot.com/2008/08/its-not-about-me.html

  2. What an awesome word-picture. Your post struck a chord in my own life. Thank you for your honesty. You have a great blog and a nack for putting exactly the right words to your heart’s message.
    Kindest Thoughts,
    Esthermay

Leave a Reply

