When God Interrupts…?

So the men of Kiriath-jearim came to get the Ark of the Lord. They took it to the hillside home of Abinadab and ordained Eleazar, his son, to be in charge of it. The Ark remained in Kiriath-jearim for a long time-twenty years in all. (1 Samuel 7:1-2)

This was some of what we read in our family devotion last night. Because everyone rushes off in the mornings, we settled on the evening time for the family devotion.

We read the whole chapter, but these two verses of scripture stuck to me. Maybe because I could identify with what was happening. This is the scenario that came to my mind: This young guy (Eleazar), has his life all figured out. Maybe he wanted to be a physician, or a Rabbi, who knows? So there he was, going about his business when all of a sudden they bring the Ark of the Lord to his house and mandate him to look after it. End of ambition – for a while. Or so he thinks. 20 years later, there he is, still looking after the Ark. The Bible does not say it was still Eleazar, but if he had been replaced, I believe the Bible would have said too.

This disturbs me because I have put my life on hold to give a year to ministry. What if 20 years later I’m still here? What happens to all my dreams and stuff? Wish you could see the horror on my face. Why does the thought of giving up control fill us humans with such fear?

5 thoughts on “When God Interrupts…?

  1. Oh, my dear, when you put your plans on hold for His you are exactly where you should be.
    So what if you are there in 20 years? If that’s His will you will also be living in His blessings.
    If you have surrendered to Him, do not fear. I KNOW that He will glorious surprises in sore for you.

  2. Hi, I’m a new reader here. I’ve got no problem admitting that I’ve got major control issues, and I thought this post was really interesting.

    1 Samuel doesn’t go on to really say what happened to Eleazar during those 20 years. Who’s to say that God didn’t bless him immensely during the time Eleazar cared for the ark? What if Eleazar got a greater return out of spending 20 years serving God than he would have if he’d otherwise gone on to follow his own ambitions? It’s sort of impossible to say, really, but I think we tend to forget that God’s got the best of intentions for out lives when he “interrupts” them. I know that I tend to forget that, anyway, and typically end up fighting God for control.

    Great post and thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Hi HisFirefly, you sound just like me mum. I know you are right and I am learning to trust God just that sometimes, it can be so durn hard! But I am a work in progress…

  4. Hi Melissa, welcome! It’s great to have you here.
    You are so right, God never owes any man and no one doing the will of God will not prosper – in every way. Control issues… hmmm. I’m learning to give them over to the One who knows what to make of them. Thanks for this comment…really encouraging.

Leave a Reply

