Thus far on encouragement

I have been behind with this challenge mostly because I moved to a different part of the country from the person I’m supposed to be encouraging. The last time I blogged on the encouragement challenge, I said I was going to see how encouraging from a distance would work out. This is the result.

Right now, I am back in Port Harcourt; this is the city I left when I moved back home. I came in briefly during the weekend and I’m leaving again tomorrow morning. I came for a number of reasons but primarily because my man needed encouragement. He had been going through some form of depression, probably triggered by loneliness. We had been speaking over the phone, but this time around I could not raise his spirits; the guy was down. So the very next day, I jumped into a bus and made the 10 hour journey to him. Oh and I surprised him too. He had no idea I was on my way to him.

I have spent 4 days just being with him; talking to him, encouraging him…planning our lives and dreaming together. And guess what? He wasn’t the only one who got encouraged!

Anyway, here are a couple more challenges. Are you taking this challenge? Please let me know if you are.

*************************************

Day Twenty-five:

…seek peace, and pursue it.” Psalm 34:14b; “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3

Before you consider whether these verses describe your husband, consider your own presence in the home. Do you promote an atmosphere of peace, or do critical words often flow from your mouth? Do you struggle with anger? If so, before you continue with your Encouragement Challenge, confess these sinful habits to the Lord, and determine to speak words of peace to your family today.

Does your husband bring an atmosphere of peace into your home? Is his presence a calming influence? Does he bring music, entertainment, books or people into your home that build a sense of serenity? Let him know how much you appreciate this wonderful quality, and support his choices.

If, on the other hand, he is quickly angered or he creates chaos rather than calm, ask God to give you an abundance of the kind of peace that will speak to his heart. Be patient and loving. Create an inviting atmosphere of peace, as much as possible.

********************************************

Day Twenty-six:

And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.” Luke 2:52

If you have faithfully encouraged your husband, you will no doubt have seen some changes in his life…and your own life, as well. Encouragement is a wonderful habit that we hope you will continue for the rest of your life.

The important thing is to keep growing in Christ and obeying the Word of God as you respond to your husband. As you consider today how to bless your husband and not tear him down, think of ways that you can encourage balance in your home. Jesus led a balanced life. He grew mentally, physically, spiritually, and socially.

As you see your husband branching out in these areas, is there a pattern of growth? Is your husband striving for balance in his life? If so, let him know you have noticed, and ask how you can further encourage that balance.

If your husband is out of balance – focusing on one area to the exclusion of the others – consider whether there are things you can do to help restore or create balance in his life. Can you encourage times for sports or exercise? Keep the children quiet for a study time? Invite friends over for dinner? Stimulate his mind?

Be sure you are working toward balance in your own life, as well. Be an example!


Revive Our Hearts

4 Comments to “Thus far on encouragement”

  1. you are so thoughtful…going to make an awesome helpmate…you are already.

  2. Thanks so much DM…I sincerely hope so.

  3. I always find so much goodness over here. I just dont always have time to put my thoughts down. But I want you to know what a blessing your blog is to me. This is really good stuff and really makes me think. I read you pretty much daily and always I take something away that I can use or relate to. Please keep this good stuff comin! :0)

  4. Wow Rosh! You blow my mind… I just don’t know what to say but THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Leave a Reply

