Moving Home

On Friday, 1st of August, 2008 I am going home.

I have lived in Port Harcourt, Nigeria for the last one year. That is where I worked in a Law Firm, met my boyfriend, got engaged to him and have been living thus far. ‘Home’, where my parents live and where I grew up, is a small country side village called Gana Ropp, about an hour’s drive from Jos, the capital of Plateau State. It is a really beautiful place, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful I’ve ever experienced. And I’m going back there in three days.

My fiance and I are both heart broken, but we have prayed about it and feel strongly that this is the Lord’s leading. It isn’t going to be easy for any of us; first of all, we have practically been living in each other’s pockets for the past one year. We see each other everyday of the week, every week of the month, every month the past 12 months. I keep asking myself how I’m going to survive without him. There’s a phrase in my language, yoruba (one of the languages of western Nigeria), which describes the sort of relationship we have, it is ‘kori ko soon‘ literally translated to mean ‘Doesn’t see, won’t sleep’. This transition is well. . . a transition.

Secondly, almost any Twenty Something knows that going back to live at home can be difficult; doesn’t matter how great your folks are – like mine. And that’s just what I’m going to do. To give them their due, they got me a little cottage not too far from them but . . . a rose by any other name?

So what would I spend my days doing? Working in another law firm? I’ve decided to go off practicing law for a while – well, no one can quite get out of that. Once your neighbours know you are a Lawyer here, that’s when they suddenly remember a piece of land their great grand father left for their grand father, which his brother stole (complicated, I know). But besides that, here’s what I’ll be doing:

  • Running the family guest house. It is actually a Prayer and Retreat Centre; so if you ever find yourself in my neck of the woods and need a quiet, serene, homely place to stay, c’mon over! (I’m already marketing am I not?);
  • Earning a Masters Degree. Online. Preferably something which combines the internet and international law. Any suggestions? Presently, all I have are brochures from UK universities and I think since our educational system here in Nigeria was patterned after that in the UK, I need a bit of the US in my education. But I don’t know any Colleges that offer a Masters in anything like that. I would really appreciate all the help here.
  • Running my Myriad Blogs. Don’t ask cos they are indeed myriad. And I set up blogs and run them for people. Why would folks want to blog if they can’t do it themselves? I don’t look a gift horse in the mouth. It pays some bills.

Right. So that’s it for my plans for the next few months. Maybe one year. I will see it as a training period. I intend to understudy my mum, learn how to be a good wife and mother. I really do not understand why God wants this separation, but one thing I know is that I trust Him to do what’s good for me. Always.

12 Responses to “Moving Home”

  1. Hello,
    intresting blog, just wanted to invite you over to my new home, if you needed some encouragement today at http://www.drunkdreamer8.com
    hope to see you there
    C.Apana

  2. The Promises Of God
    (Whereas angels, which are greater in power) 2Peter2v11.

    “Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone” James 2v17.
    So have faith in God’s word by believing and confessing His truth, then don’t try to bring about His promises to you by your own works (flesh),
    for the flesh(works) profits nothing as the Bible says, but by God’s works we send out the angel of the Lord ( God’s spirit), to receive His promises.
    For it is written in zechariah 4v6, “Not by might nor by power, but by my spirit, (God’s angel) saith the Lord of Hosts. You see God’s spirit is His angel and they have more power to retrieve your promise.
    (Whereas angels, which are greater in power) 2Peter2v11.

    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  3. Moving home is a tough thing. I’ve been back home for year now and I cant tell you that I’ve loved it, but seriously it’s been good for me. I’ve learned more and grown more than I expected, and even though it strained our relationsihp at first, my man and I have also been bettered from it all. Enjoy that time. And I’m gonna post my answers to your tag shortly! 🙂

  4. Sha,
    I just read this post…and have to tell you, as hard as this will be, I feel it could prove to be an awesome time of growth in the depth of your relationship w/ you and your man. I will do a little checking for you regarding your questions about internet schooling and legal things…I have two internet friends who are both lawyers here in the US..I’ll jot them both an e-mail after I get done here and ask them to get in touch with you….so if I hear you correctly,you will still have the computer to stay in touch 🙂 DM

  5. @drunkdreamer8 – thanks for the visit; I checked your new home and it’s awesome!

    @ the Cornish Evangelist – thanks for leaving a comment and the scripture always helps.

    @ Ro – Actually, when I was tempted to chicken out of going home, I just kept telling myself, ‘if Rosheeda could do it, so can I!’ So may I say you were my encouragement? Change that to ARE. You are an encouragement to me and thanks so much for all the comments you are so faithful to leave here…

    @ DM – You are terrific! Had to try hard not to cry when I saw your comment. Truth is, like the true friend and brother that you are, you kept nudging me to go back home. And I listened. I know it didn’t always seem that way, but I did. Thanks for the …. awww, I’ve already sent you an email!

  6. Hi Sharon! Wow, you’re entering an interesting season in life, girlie. I pray you’ll receive everything purposed for you, and bloom beautifully during this time. The challenges will strengthen you and reveal parts of you in a new light.

    Just know you’re destined to shine & thrive…I’ll be checkin’ in to cheer you along :)…

  7. Hey Ashe, thanks for the encouragement. It feels like I’m turning to a whole new chapter of my life . . . I appreciate the thought that it will all make me stronger.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

