On the other foot

I’m on Day 20 of the encouragement challenge. Giving encouragement to the man I plan to spend the rest of my life with has been a tough, though rewarding experience. Until yesterday.

I have spent the past 20 + days struggling to control my speech and only say things that will positively help and reflect on him so when HE said something really unkind to me yesterday, I was actually speechless. Then I retreated into silence. I kept wondering how on earth I was going to be encouraging in the face of that when I read today’s challenge. And I thought ‘drat!’. . . but read for yourself.

Day Twenty:

“And be kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God in Christ also forgave you.” Eph. 4:32

It’s time for some heart examination. As you continue in this 30-day challenge, have you found any roots of bitterness that are contaminating your relationship with your husband? Do you understand that as long as you are unwilling to forgive your husband – by God’s grace and in His power – you will not be able to encourage him? Your own resentment will keep getting in the way. Now is the time to deal with any unforgiving  attitudes. Forgive him, even as God has forgiven you.

Is your husband a forgiving man? Does he keep short accounts of your problems? Express your thankfulness for such a man.

Does your husband – rightly or wrongly – harbor grudges against you? Again, are there things you need to change, or do you need to ask for his forgiveness for an offense? Help your husband be more forgiving by quickly forgiving him for his mistakes.

 

Well! How’s that for God speaking to a situation? And to crown it, I was searching through Kristine’s blogand followed a link to Joyful ‘toons and this is what I got –

* * *

The encouragement challenge is provided courtesy Nancy De Moss of Revive Our Hearts.

Published by Revive Our Hearts, © 2005. Permission granted to photocopy in the exact form, including copyright.


The ‘toons on the other hand are courtesy of www.joyfultoons.com

Leave a Reply

