Cafe Chat

What is one woman from the Bible that you can relate to, and explain why you relate to her?What is one woman from the Bible that you can relate to, and explain why you relate to her?

 

 

 

 

I thought long and hard about this; there are so many women in the Bible I admire and respect. But these are women I want to be like and not those that I feel I can really relate to. . . at least that’s what I thought when I first read the question for this week’s cafe chat. Then I started to look into my repertoire of Bible women and I came up with one – ESTHER.

I realised that in my walk with Jesus, many times I feel like Esther; like a little and very ordinary girl who is just dressed in queenly garments but does not feel at all queenly. I don’t know if I’m making any sense here. I read about Esther that seemed so familiar:

“Esther had not told anyone of her nationality and family background” (Esther 2:10, NLT)

I feel that way so many times, like I’m hiding behind who I really am. Especially when I was at the University…I was always hiding my family background. My dad is a well known preacher and missionary in my country and I did not want anyone else to know that because I felt they would judge my actions based on my background. I wonder what it must have been like for her; always scared, couldn’t trust anyone with her secret…

I don’t mind people knowing I’m a Christian anymore and in fact, I am now quite proud of the godly heritage I have. But I still feel sometimes that there are so many parts of me that no one must find out.

Another aspect of Esther I feel I can relate to was her instinct for self preservation. When she heard that Mordecai had put on sack cloth and she got to know the reason for that, her first reaction was her own neck. She told Mordecai that if she went before the King without His specifically requesting to see her, she would die. He sent back that either way, she was going to die anyway with the rest of the jews. (Esther 4:4-14). That was when she called folks together and decided to ask the Most High for courage.

I feel that way so many times…I lack courage. I find my instinct for self preservation to be well honed…it comes out even when it should not. That I can relate to. When I was growing up, I kept telling my parents that God could use me anyway He wanted as long as He did not send me into any strange lands as a missionary; I didn’t want to die!

I still feel that way. I don’t want to sacrifice myself for anyone. But that’s OK. Esther isn’t the only one who knows where to go to for courage.

 

You can join this discussion at the Cafe.

3 Comments to “Cafe Chat”

  1. Wonderful choice sweetie, bless you.

  2. I would love to be like Esther, only without the sacrafice! I love your honesty; you share your heart.

Leave a Reply

