listening with my mouth

Day Nine:

“…be swift to hear, slow to speak…” James 1:19b

We are often so busy speaking that we don’t take time to listen. We are so quick to offer a comment – negative or positive – that we don’t really “hear” our husband’s heart.

Remember: we have two ears and only one mouth. We need to listen more!

As you continue in your 30-day challenge, not speaking negatively and focusing on positive encouragement, hear the Lord’s admonition today: “Be swift to hear.” If listening is a real problem for you, play a game with yourself. See if you can listen to
your husband for one whole day, only speaking when asked a question. If your husband notices the difference, explain that you are learning to listen more-not only to God, but also to him.

One easy way to express admiration for your husband is to ask a question about
something he enjoys, and then listen to his response. If it’s an area of personal
familiarity, keep asking questions until you learn something you didn’t know, then tell
him, “Wow, I didn’t know that!”

 


Listen:

To make an effort to hear something:

to concentrate on hearing something
to take heed or pay attention

The Free Dictionary.Com

I did not blog about this challenge yesterday because I did a poor job of it. Truth to tell, I completely forgot about it till later in the evening and even then, I couldn’t really keep quiet.

I’m not surprised though that I forgot. I love to talk! My only problem is I don’t really have a lot of people around that I can do that with and besides he’s my best friend and oh yeah. . . yada yada yada. Excuses! Sigh.

I tried the art of listening when I remembered and I really did get to know stuff about him that I had no idea about. I enjoyed the experience so much that I decided to try it again today.

I think listening is the highest compliment that a person can be given; it is a gift. When you listen to a person, what you are saying is that you value that person and his or her opinions. We take our loved ones for granted like that; not listening to them. It’s the easisest thing to do and it is something that hurts a lot. I feel so bad when I say a thing over and over again and a few minutes later, the person asks me in different words about the subject. I’m always like ‘so what have I been saying all this while?’

The Lord wants to have a listening relationship with his beloved – We listen to Him and He listens to us in turn. As a child of God, the greatest pleasure should come from that quiet place of stillness where we listen for the voice and Spirit of the Lord.

I lost an opportunity to experience the rare bonding which can is one of the side benefits of truly listening…not just pretending to listen but really hearing what the person is saying behind the words. When you concentrate on hearing someone, you get glimpses into the soul of that person; understand the unique thought patterns of that person; you become empathetically connected to that person… How do you pray for someone if you do not even know what is going on with that person?

I am not going to make that mistake today. Today, I will make an effort to hear, concentrate on hearing, take heed and pay attention. Today, I will listen!

Leave a Reply

