Is he faithful?

Encouragement Challenge – Day Eight:

How are you doing with the “30-Day Encouragement Challenge”? In case you’ve
forgotten, here’s the challenge:

  • You can’t say anything negative about your husband …to your husband…or to anyone else, about your husband.
  • Say something that you admire or appreciate about your husband…to your husband…and to someone else, about your husband! 

“…but who can find a faithful man?” Prov. 20:6b


Faithfulness is a wonderful but rare quality today, especially in regard to marriage. Do you understand how important this quality is? Your challenge is to continue to root out all negative speaking, and plant seeds of encouragement instead. You may be amazed at what will grow.


Contemporary culture often entices men to be unfaithful to their wedding vows and spiritual commitments. Appreciate your husband’s faithfulness – how he is loyal to you.


Let him know that you are glad he has “stick-to-it-iveness” in your marriage. Appreciate his faithfulness to God. (If you have an unfaithful husband, this is a difficult area for you. Pray, speak the truth in love, remain faithful yourself, and discover ways to encourage faithfulness in your mate. The Bible says that husbands may “…be won by the conduct of their wives” [1 Pet. 3:1]. You may also want to seek counsel from a mature, godly individual or couple.)


This is a very touchy subject for a lot of people – mostly women anyway. I am not going to say much about it because I don’t really know much. It is just so sad to see the divorce rates – and because of cheating too. I have always wondered, what goes through a man or woman’s mind when they decide to cheat? I’ve watched a lot of movies and read novels and the excuse most people give is that the attraction was too great there was nothing they could do about it. Fine. It’s I guess if someone makes them really angry, they’ll go ahead and shoot them, after all the anger was too great.

I think that if we learn to be a little less selfish sometimes and think of others – the other person’s feelings, the children who will be hurt – we might then be able to exercise some self control.

I once read the question a mother asked her daughter in a novel… she asked “are you going to throw away a marriage for an affair“, this was when she found out that her husband was having an affair. It was hard for me to stomach although we view cheating husbands in Nigeria a little differently from how they are seen in other countries. One of my friends once told me that as long as there was neither a reduction in the money, time nor affection which she received from her husband, she didn’t care what he did! Well! I totally hate the thought of divorce but that…!

About divorce, I don’t think any woman or man for that matter goes into a marriage with divorce on their minds, it’s just that sometimes, we give up easily. I am aware that in many cases it cannot be helped…my dad would be scandalized to read this, but I would personally take up the case of a woman who is being abused by her husband, in fact I would gladly represent her in court!

I recently participated in a discussion on Facebook; it was what your reaction would be if you came home early and found your husband of 5 weeks in bed with another woman. Ahhh… imagine how interesting that was. What would you do? Where does forgiveness come in?

That being said, I thank God for a man who does not cheat. Yes, I know what a lot of folks are thinking, we aint married yet. But I believe he has never cheated on me in the one year plus that we’ve been dating and it has not been easy because he’s one fine looking man. I’ll keep praying for him; the temptation would always be there but when all is said and done, it is God that helps a man stay faithful.

One Trackback to “Is he faithful?”

Leave a Reply

