Living my life

“Live your life in such a way that you would not be afraid to sell the family Parrot to the Town Gossip.”

I got that from my cousin, have no idea where she got that from. I first heard it over five years ago but it keeps ringing in my head. How does one do that? This means living a life of utter transparency for goodness sakes!! First and foremost I am naturally a secretive person. So I decided that it did not mean I needed to tell the whole world each time I had a cup of coffee but that I needed to live in such a way that even if my ‘secret life’ came out in the open, I’d have nothing to be ashamed of. Great.

I mean really…! I tried. But I kept doing things I was constantly ashamed of, things that if my mum found out I probably wouldn’t be able to look her in the face again. And the quote above kept haunting me. If I messed up, I’d think to myself “the Town Gossip had better not hear about this”. Talk about living in bondage. So though I totally subscribed to the principle behind the quote, I found that I could not live up to it. And that was that.

I have come to realise that I cannot attain that kind of purity and transparency – not on my own. I need the hand of God to do that. Also that when I mess up, it is life teaching me a lesson for the future or to help someone else. So these days, when I’m tempted to cringe in shame, I straighten my shoulders and tell myself, “so maybe I’ve messed up, well I’m not perfect and God has forgiven me.” (Take that Town Gossips!)

One thought on “Living my life

Leave a Reply

