encouragement challenge – day 5

Finally! I get to ‘graduate’ to the 5th day – after losing 2 day! Oh well. . . guess that’s why it is a challenge. So here goes:

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.” Eph. 4:29

Another way to describe the positive side of this “30-Day Encouragement Challenge” is by using the word “edify,” which means, “to build up.” Negative comments only discourage and tear down. Positive comments encourage and build.

Do you edify your husband before others, adding to his value in their eyes? This is especially important to other family members.

Do you praise your husband to his relatives, and yours? Does your husband’s mother know how much you love him? How about your dad? Perhaps you can drop a word of praise into a conversation or letter. Be creative in letting your relatives know that you respect your husband, love him, and support him – in spite of whatever flaws and weaknesses he may have.

Oh this is precious! I think I did good in this one yesterday. My aunt came to spend a few days with her friend who also lives in the same town that I live in. So I went to spend some time with her and I took my husband to be and my brother (who is on vacation with me). I made sure I introduced him to everyone there and I spoke so highly of him that by the time we were ready to live, my aunt pulled me aside and warned me to hold on to my man, that good men like him are not easy to come by! Hah…you are right if you think I’m feeling smug cos I am.

Seriously though, after two days of failing in this challenge, it is a relief to finally be doing something right. On the other hand, does his mother know how much I love him? I don’t know… we do not talk about that. But she might guess, I definitely don’t hide it.

Leave a Reply

