This mouth of mine

I started on the encouragement challenge provided by Nancy De Moss at Revive Our Hearts.Com and it has been just a peach. Until today. Things were going so well…I started my fitness exercise today. He came over from his place very early in the morning (he doesn’t live too far away) to help and encourage me after which we both cleaned up my apartment. It was sooo lovely and I was so proud. I’d already started plotting this post in my head and how I was going to say all those glorious things about my husband to be and what a wonderful encourager I was becoming and then somewhere along the line . . . bam! My mouth went off!!! Oh boy! I contravened one of my very first rules of fighting: the never/always rule… you never do this! AND you always do that! What I shouted was “why do you always behave like this!” I can’t tell you how bad I felt. But I felt justified in my anger so even though I knew he was hurt, I mutinously kept quiet.

James certainly must have known what he was talking about when he said

People can tame all kinds of animals, birds, reptiles, and fish, but no one can tame the tongue. It is restless and evil, full of deadly poison. (James 3: 3-10)

I spoke when I should not have and when I should have said something to heal the rift what did I do? I kept quiet. This mouth!

So I thought about starting over again, then decided not to. After all, it was just a little altercation right? Wrong. Ladies, have you ever tried making peace with a man whose feelings have been hurt? It would have been better if he had just been angry, but hurt feelings…Oh gosh! Anyway, needless to say, we did not resolve the matter till late in the evening. Which means I’ve lost a day. Do I start all over again or do I repeat today’s challenge tomorrow? “To be or not to be?” Oh well, I’ll still post today’s challenge.

On a different note, I’ve been importing my blog posts into my facebook and I want to take it off. Any one who wants to read would just have to come to the blog, sorry.

2 thoughts on “This mouth of mine

  1. Pingback: reservoir
  2. If you haven’t already read the book, or seen the dvd series…I would HIGHLY recommend it…it’s called “Love And Respect”..I believe you can google it..Focus on the family helped sponsor it. Wife and I attended the seminar where it was presented live…it is without a doubt the most practical material we’ve went through as a couple…(and we’ve been to several marriage enrichment retreats, read books, yada yada…) won’t spoil the material for you, but it touches on what you experienced today and a whole lot more..(plus it’s funny)..remember what Mary Poppin’s said? “A spoon full of sugar helps the medicine go down?” 🙂

    ~Hi DM,

    I googled it up and it took me straight to the website. I’ll go around town and find a bookshop that has it in stock. Thanks…I need ALL the help!

Leave a Reply

