Thankful Thursday

The godly may trip seven times, but they will get up again. (Proverbs 24:16; NLT)

I read the story of the woman caught in the act and each time I read it, it blows my mind away. This woman was not caught in her undies or coming out of a guy’s room in the middle of the night. There was no iota of assumption in what she was doing because she was caught red handed.

I know so many Christians who are so quick to condemn those who have fallen. My dad always says that the church is the only army that shoots its wounded. Isn’t that sad? Why can’t we all be like Jesus, offering unconditional love and acceptance? Joyce Meyer said people complain about the folks in Church being messed up and she wondered that wasn’t that why they were in Church in the first place?

The love of God is a safe harbour…the Psalmist says that the name of the Lord is a strong tower… It is a place where I can run to and be safe from condemnation. A place I know that no matter how many times I fall, God’s love is there to pick me up and dust me – again and again.

Today I’m thankful for:

  • God’s love
  • His unconditional acceptance
  • the brothers and sisters in Christ who offer encouragement
  • forgiveness
  • My parents who showed me the way to go and offer support when I’m not so strong
  • My Sisters at Thankful Thursday

For more thankful hearts, Check with Iris at Sting My Heart.

17 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. In Cornwall visions and dreams and words of knowledge are common among the Cornish Christians. Many will testify of God’s speaking to them and showing them visions just like the early church experienced.
    In my own family this was very prominent, my mother would tell me how she would hear angels singing praises to God as she walked in the fields, and my grandmother saw a vision of Jesus, walking down the corridor in hospital when she was very poorly. She soon began to recover after seeing Jesus.

    When I was about twelve years of age, I experienced God in a very powerful way. I was coming home from school, it was about a mile walk to my farmhouse, and the clouds became very dark, then a hailstorm started to fall, stinging my face, lightening tore across the sky, it was like being on a battlefield.
    I hid myself behind a garage wall for shelter, but then things became much worse. I saw in the sky a huge ball of fire with lightening coming out of it, and it was heading straight for me. I cried to God, “Oh God, Oh God, save me,” and then there was a huge explosion, as God blew it out of the sky before it could kill me.
    I was very surprised to find that there was no hole in the ground, or any damage to the garage. I could hardly believe it, even though I had experienced it with my own eyes.
    So, I asked the children who were on the bus with me, “did you see a ball of fire coming out of the sky last night when I got off the bus?” “Yes,” they replied, and also my mother saw the same ball of fire streaking across the sky.

    How true is God’s Word when He says,
    “Call upon me in the day of trouble and I will deliver you.”

    LINK
    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  2. Very apt words for such a time as this. I was nodding my head all the way through. God bless you for sharing your heart. Have a happy TT.

    ~Thank you so much Laurie Ann…you always are a blessing~

  3. Hi Sharon,
    I enjoyed your list. The church is judged wrongly so often. Sometimes there are unkind people at church but they are only human. Oh for churches to be more Christ-like! I enjoyed your thankful post.
    Gina

    ~Thanks a lot Gina. . . you are right. I think people need to realise that the Church is not for perfect people – those don’t need Church. It’s for folks who fall and get up again.

  4. I think your dad was right about the church shooting their wounded. Christians can be the most unforgiving, when we have been forgiven. I don’t understand. I am thankful for the forgiveness and acceptance we have in Christ. Thanks for sharing.

    ~me neither, but guess God does. Thanks for the visit~

  5. Bless you Sharon…I’ve been reading around your blog on your Challenges and almost forgot Thankful Thursday! Thank you for such an honest post! Amen to unconditional Love and encouragement! We seem to all need a blessing of that everyday!

    I was thinking about your scripture verse chosen, your dad’s remark and your example from scripture! I believe that is very sad also when the church judges those that come in need or worse shuns them…I’ve seen that here in Mexico. After all, we all need Christ, His unconditional love and acceptance…that’s suppose to be the Church’s mission to continue Jesus’ work!
    How we forget when our lives were messed up without Christ, and sin is sin…no matter what! The example I’m thinking of from here, was a drunk that ended up in church, probably looking for God to change His life and habit(hopefully) but the “older” people just seemed to ignore him…whereas the youth, were kind in offering him a chair, a cold cup of water and I went out to my van to bring him a Gideon NT, opening it to where they were
    reading! He seemed to be grateful though I don’t think He felt welcomed and left before the prayer for sinners…being sure to thank the ones who had been kind! The Love of God is OUR safe harbor but it is meant for ALL not a chosen few! May the Lord continue to BE your Strong Tower…and thank you for reminding me that no matter how many times I may fall, there is no condemnation in Christ Jesus…He does pick us up, brush us off,
    encourages us to sin no more, and sets up back on the path of life! That what GRACE is! That’s how great HIS Mercy is!

    Be blessed for blessing us and me with your visit and kind words!

    ~Amen Sister!

    Ah..Peggy, you seem to capture it in a nutshell. I feel so sad for that drunk man, but it was the Holy Spirit that led him to that Church and the Holy Spirit won’t let him go. I said a quick prayer for him. Thank God for folks like you and the youths at your church.

  6. Good word, sister. The beauty of God’s work in us is that we are NOT perfect – robots are MUCH less interesting – and that we must make a choice to engage. How much fun would it be for our children to tell us that they love us because they had no choice but to say it? Would it mean anything for a friend to spend time with us because they HAD to? No – and that is one of the things that makes this process of walking the walk so wonderful – that we CHOOSE to follow Christ, and in turn, HE enables us to do so… just like the lumps in the mashed potatoes, the imperfections prove the reality of it.
    Blessings to you,
    Angela

    ~Wow Angela! What an analogy…the lumps in the mashed potatoes…!!! You are so right! It is that element of choice which makes this walk so special. God bless you.
    Sharon~

  7. Pingback: Thankful Thursday
  8. Sharon,

    I agree with your Dad! Isn’t it sad how Christians treat people at times. If the shoe were on the other foot though, they wouldn’t want to be treated that way.

    In response to your question: I’m doing good. Glad for the time off in the next few days. Thanks for asking.

    Have a great weekend!
    Cheryl

    ~you are so right, we often find it hard to treat others as we would want them to treat us…human beings for you.

    Glad to know you are doing fine.

    Remain blessed,
    Sharon~

  9. Sharon…one more question…in your 31 Day challenge of Prayer, there were some gaps…like between Day 2 and Day 5? Is it just that I couldn’t find them? Thank you!

  10. I so, so agree with you. As believers, we should be offering grace to one another.
    Thanks for the encouraging reminder on TT.
    Beth@TheAccidentalPharisee

    ~Thank you Beth, you are so right indeed. God bless you~

  11. I so agree with your Dad…Sometimes I wonder the many whys (and almost always, it gets me disoriented) But somehow I get on track thinking about Jesus…and no one else.

    Thanks for sharing your list. And yes, happy 4th of July!

    ~Hi mama Meji,

    You just hit the nail on the head… Focus on Jesus! That’s the only way we can make it through this journey. Thanks and God bless

    Sharon~

  12. Hi Sharon, thank you for dropping by. This is a really good post. Earlier today I’ve received in an email from a friend (non-believer) saying she has met a lot of Christians who are very bad and judgemental. And they call themselves Christian. I’ve heard too many a times of the last remark especially. I’ve never really know how to answer that.

    ~It’s sad that a lot of Christians mis-represent Christ, but anyway, if they were good they wouldn’t need Him, right? Thanks for the visit, God bless~

  13. Hey Sharon, glad you could come by my blog. I’m thankful for that! You’re dad’s right about the church being the only army that shoots the wounded! That is really true! Why is that? It’s crazy and made me realized that I too must be careful and keep praying that God will give me the attitude Christ have for us when we fail Him.

    ~Hi Aisha, you are so right! After all, who is the Church? You and I! Thanks for stopping by.

    Sharon~

  14. This is a post that just strikes through the heart..It’s sad yet true and that’s why we need more of God’s unconditional love towards everyone..

    Thanks for your TT! God bless!!

    ~Thanks…unconditional Love like Christ showed us is our goal. Thanks for that observation, God bless~

  15. You know, in a way, your father is right. We do sometimes do condemn our brothers and sisters in the faith, without giving them encouragement and pointing to the cross…

    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us this week 🙂

    Blessings to you and yours…

    ~Thanks a lot Iris. TT has meant a lot to me. . . it’s been encouragement, encouragement encouragement all the way~

Leave a Reply

