Dealing With Loneliness

I got an email from a dear friend not too long ago; he wanted to know if I’d been lonely before and what I did when I was lonely.; this was for a blog post he was working on.

The question set me thinking. Loneliness has been like a second skin to me. I don’t know about you, but that is a feeling I can relate to very well. It’s like a gaping chasm just waiting to swallow me given half a chance. But that’s it, I refuse to give it a chance!

What do you do to get over being lonely? Do you have any specially developed techniques or any home made recipes for that? Personally, I employ a number of antidotes to loneliness:

  • I get lost in the world of fiction. (A good Amanda Quick or Maeve Binchy can do wonders!)
  • I listen to music…and I don’t mean Enya-that only intensifies the loneliness. I listen to something which fits my mood but is also uplifting; like Michael W. Smith or ASA.
  • I write. I’ve been journaling since I was 12 years old. I discovered that once I could capture the emotion I was feeling in words, I could handle it.
  • Nevertheless, nothing beats talking to God. There are times when I try all 3 and nothing seems to fill the empty space and that’s when I do some God conversing.

Now I am aware that this is the wrong order. I should do the talking to God thing 1st! Oh well, I’ll work at it.

OK. So let me know how you deal with your loneliness…just drop a comment. And if you never get lonely, well, let me hear about that too!

Leave a Reply

