Do the David thing

This week’s Cafe Chat is quite interesting. It is also funny in that it is a question I asked myself just a few days ago – not in quite the same words but the meaning was clear enough.

If you could go back in time to a pivotal point in your young life and give yourself one word/sentence of advice, and know that you would accept the advice, what would it be?

That is an easy one to answer. If I could go back in time, to a pivotal point in my young life and give myself one sentence of advice, it would be DO THE DAVID THING!

David in the Bible was the Shepherd King who was also called a man after God’s heart for a lot of reasons. But I think one of the major reasons was David’s penchant of sole and total dependence of God. At every step of the way, he sought God’s direction; of course he usually got into trouble when he didn’t.

I decided some time ago to try the David option; asking God what way to go and when to go it and sometimes even how to go it. I don’t always remember to do this but for the times that I have, it has been a saving grace. Most importantly, this involves forming a relationship with God; and not just an occasional relationship either but a daily hourly one.

I cannot give a firm guarantee that I would have accepted this advice everytime, but I do know that if I had discovered this early, it would have saved me a lot of grief.

7 Comments to “Do the David thing”

  1. Amen! Do the David thing! Great advice for us all.

    Thanks Christine. God bless you~

  2. This is very encouraging. 🙂 Yeah, David is really a good example to follow in our walk with God. We want to be a man and woman after God’s heart just like David. Thank you for sharing!

    ~Hello guys, thanks for your comment. I too want to be a person who seeks God first. God bless you and grant you the desires of your heart.~

  3. Doing the David thing. I’m glad to know that it has a name. This is something that I just started doing this year, and I’m still not very good at it. I could have used this advice early on, too.

    ~Hi Maisie, I’m glad you’ve started. I’m still not very good at it as I’m usually on and off, but I’m trying.

    I loved your blog and the way you write is so honest…

    Sharon~

  4. Good answer… Thanks for participating this week…

    ~Thanks, I really enjoyed myself. God bless you.~

  5. That’s interesting. I wouldn’t have thought of that. But it makes so much sense…why not want to be like someone who was a man after God’s own heart? Thanks.

    ~Uh huh, I’m glad you see it that way Lily. Took me a while to realise that was the better option. Thanks.

    Sharon~

  6. Oh Sharon, I so enjoyed reading your post here. May we all just do “The David Thing!” Like you, I find that every time I am totally dependent on God for His direction, plans, will, etc., it just works out. Go figure! I too, meet with trouble and consequences every time I go at it alone or without consulting Him. Thanks for sharing this.

    ~Exactly! Peculiar you hit the nail on the head. It really just ‘works out’ in an inexplainable way. I sincerely wish I discovered the secret early on. Thanks for this lovely comment, God bless you.
    Sharon~

  7. An interesting post and something that I need to learn to do as I have always just assumed that He was there (and he is!) but I need to do more in the way of asking what He needs me to do.

    ~Thanks Sam for your comment. It hasn’t been easy but His grace is available. And you’re right, He IS always there! God bless~

Leave a Reply

