PRAYER FOR MY HUSBAND (TO BE): DAY 30

Pray that your husband will serve God and others with pure motives. Pray that he will obey the Lord from his heart, and glorify Him in everything.

(1 Cor. 10:13; John 7:17-18; Col. 3:23-24)

One more day to go with these prayers. I’ll positively miss them, not that I intend to stop praying. I’ll definitely keep praying for my intended. But when this is over, I have another challenge in the pipelines. That’s a surprise so you would have to come back here to read about it. On the other hand, you could check ReviveOurHearts.com for several other prayer challenges.

About today’s prayer, I realise that obedience is not something that comes easily to a man (or to a woman for that matter). It implies a loss of control or a giving over of your will to someone else. NOBODY likes that. But what is worse I suppose, is giving over your will to someone else, allowing that person use you and faithfully obeying that person, yet getting no praise for that. What could be worse than that?

Yet God is asking it of us. He commands us to love the Lord with all our soul… and to work with enthusiasm for the Lord and not for man. What this means is don’t let it stress you if you put your all into making the church hall beautiful with flowers and no one notices or says ‘thank you’; don’t let it get to you because you gave up your vacation to stay with your aged mum so your siblings could go have fun and there wasn’t even a pat on the back; or you go out of your way for your wife or husband or anyone at all and receive little or no appreciation in return…

If you do these things as though you are doing them for the Lord and not for these people, it really will not matter if they are grateful or not because the Lord sees these things and believe me, He is no man’s debtor.

One subject my husband to be is really touchy about is appreciation. He just can’t bear it when he goes out of his way and I don’t seem to notice. Incidentally, I feel the same way too. So this prayer is really spot on.

How do you feel about not getting appreciation? Drop a comment and let me know. I’m going to do some prayer.

6 thoughts on “PRAYER FOR MY HUSBAND (TO BE): DAY 30

  1. Bless you Sharon…I was just comparing this challenge to the one you are doing in July! Wondering which one you recommend doing first! Perhaps I should start with PRAYER! I am really blessed by your honest post! I too believe strongly in showing appreciation or commenting about it, just to take notice a
    “thank you would be nice”!

    I have another question is the 1. comment from Revive Our Hearts?
    Do they do that daily? What a blessing! Nancy & Revive Our Hearts truly know how to minister, bless and encourage…looking forward to one of these challenges starting August 1st!!!

    ~yeah, prayer is pretty powerful, besides, I think it’s easier to be encouraging if you are praying.

    The prayer challenge is from Revive Our Hearts. They have a place where you can sign up for encouragement as you take the challenges. Can’t wait till you start!

  2. Thank you for sharing an important reminder for all of us. This is probably something each and every one of us struggles with at one time or another. It is nice to be appreciated, but that doesn’t always happen and when your efforts and accomplishments are not noticed by anyone around you, it is comforting to know that our ever-present God notices!
    In His Love and Blessings,
    annb

  3. I noticed Ann, that it is usually harder for family members to show appreciation…so I had to adopt this attitude, especially now as I’m living at home. Thanks for visiting, God bless you.

  4. i wrote a ‘love letter’ to my father on the 13th of november 2007.in it i told him that he was my’ultimate man’.i also told him that i’d choose him a million times over to be my father.It was an inspired letter.

    My father passed on 21st january 2008 while reclining on his couch with a smile that said’i know something you don’t’.3 days after he died,we discovered that he had read my letter the day he died.It was sitting open in his bedside drawer were he kept his reading glasses and dairy.

    the last time i saw him was 2 days after i gave him that letter.He wasn’t a sentimental person though he kept every document out of habit(he was an investigator an later a lawyer).But i’m sure he read that letter more than once.

    I’ve learnt since then to say ‘i love you’ to every member of my family and to give a hug every morning cos you never know…

  5. That was a lovely thing to do…as I read your comment, I could almost feel tears in my eyes. Family members are the last people we should take for granted, and yet the easiest. This is a good lesson, thanks.

Leave a Reply

