Praying for my Husband to be (not easy)

Is it not a funny thing that when you make a commitment to something, anything that can divert you from that course happens? I know Will Edward in his book 7 Keys to Success said that when you make a commitment, the whole universe conspires to help you achieve that end. But just as there is the ying and the yang, there are always equal and opposing forces in everything.

I just wrote the post on today’s prayer for my husband to be (h2b) and for clarification I’ll quote the prayer again:

Pray that your husband will be patient and a man of peace. Pray that he will not give in to anger, but will allow the Holy Spirit to control his responses

(31 Days of Praying for your Husband: Day 19)

Well, I posted that and prayed the prayer and guess what happened? We go out together and for one reason or the other h2b and I have a misunderstanding and he yells at me…!

We quarrel, we argue, we disagree and have misunderstandings; we never yell.

Before I could form a proper expression the prayer came to my mind and I also remembered the brief post that accompanied it; So I knew it was the devil trying to throw a spoke in my wheel, or maybe it was just a test.

Anyway, I decided to keep quiet and not say anything. Instead I began to pray. You see, the prayer started breathing; it took up a life of its own. I was not just praying because some devotion said to pray. Uh uh. I was now praying because something needed to be done. But more than that, I also prayed for peace inside me (because I was really mad at him).

I guess sometimes we need to experience some things literally in order to spice up our prayers with passion.

2 Responses to “Praying for my Husband to be (not easy)”

  1. Ha! Glad I’m not alone on that one. Good grief. Anytime I pray for my mister,something happens to challenge the request. It’s pretty hard to push through it. But that would be what the enemy wants.Nothing is sweeter than praying, in spite of, and seeing it answered.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

