Praying for my Husband-to-be: Day 19

That’s also why there is so much at stake if we don’t pray. Can you imagine praying for the right side of your body and not the left? If the right side is not sustained and protected and it falls, it’s going to bring down the left side with it. The same is true of you and your husband. If you pray for yourself and not him, you will never find the blessings and fulfillment you want. What happens to him happens to you and you can’t get around it.

 – Stormie Omartian

I read this article, How I Started Praying for my Husband by Stormie Omartian, best-selling author and it just spoke to my heart especially as I read today’s 31 Days of Praying for your Husband.

Anything worth having requires hard work and determination; most times, that is in the place of prayer. With the divorce rates and the level of infidelity in society (even in the Church), it has become even more necessary to hold on to what you have – through intense prayers.

Is there any perfect relationship or marriage? I don’t know as I’ve never been married but I have never seen or heard of a perfect marriage and I know I’m not in a perfect relationship. Do I believe there are perfect marriages? Sure, if you can point out one perfect human being to me.

We get disillusioned most times when we go into a relationship (marriage) expecting things to be just peachy. Then when they’re not we want out. It is my personal opinion that the problem with a lot of marriages these days is that the people give up too easily.

Mahmet Ghandi made a profound statement; he said the change you want to see in the world begins with you. I’ll paraphrase it a bit:

The Change You want to See in Your Marriage (Relationship) Begins with You!

How willing are you to compromise? To change a bit of you… So the other person isn’t perfect? Well neither are you. Do you have the ability and more than that, the desire to be the person you want that other person to be? That is a thought to ponder on.

The Prayer for Day 19 is: Pray that your husband will be patient and a man of peace. Pray that he will not give in to anger, but will allow the Holy Spirit to control his responses.

It is a prayer worth praying. But more than that, I need to examine myself and find out if I am patient, a woman of peace and if I allow the Holy Spirit to control my responses.

Leave a Reply

