Thankful Thursday – His Word

All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. (2 Tim. 3:16 NLT).

I am currently studying the book of Ruth. As I went through the first chapter, for no reason I could think of, I felt tears run down my face. Reading about Naomi’s distress and the reason for it, made me examine my own life for areas where I had strayed. I spent the time in repentance and re-dedicated my life to Christ. It was a rare experience and I am thankful for the privilege.

Ruth’s plea to Naomi touched my heart. Here was a woman who was willing to go all the way not just for her Mother-in-law, but also for the God her new family had introduced her to. I had to pause and ask myself if I could honestly and without reservation, make the same promise to God. It was a profound moment. The Lord only corrects those He loves and as I experience His correction, my heart overflows with thankfulness.

My fiance and I had a visit from our Pastor (he has been counselling us through our courtship). He had a speaking engagement in our town and so we had some time to visit. He confirmed a word that the Lord had given us. It was incredible. God had told my fiance and I something; we are still praying about it. Then our Pastor comes and tells us the same thing in almost the same words… It is something only those who have been saved by the Blood of the Lamb ever get to experience and I am just so thankful to God for that.

My best friend’s wedding was beautiful. She made a really lovely bride. I made the trip by road (that is approximately 20 hours on the road both trips). Now, this is Nigeria and the roads are not exactly what they should be. We saw over 6 car wrecks on the road. But we travelled and got back home without a scratch, even though the bus driver kept going above the speed limit. It was a miracle and I am truly thankful.

There is just so much I am thankful for this week but I’ll stop here. If you also have a grateful heart and would love to share, why don’t you join Iris and the rest of us grateful hearts at Sting My Heart.

6 Comments to “Thankful Thursday – His Word”

  1. This was a precious thankful post, bless you dear one.

  2. i’m glad that during your 20hour road trip nothing bad happened. road accidents are so common nowadays.
    really appreciate your shared thoughts. 🙂
    Blessings …

  3. Hi Sharon!
    Great Post!
    Thanks for your kind words on this Thankful Thursday!!
    Keisha

  4. Nice! Glad to meet you, and I can’t wait to read more of your blog.

    Rosheeda

  5. Oh what a beautiful post. How exciting when God confirms His precious word to us.

    So blessed God protected you on your trip.

    Blessings to you♥

  6. That is so neat that God confirmed through your Pastor your prayers…

    I am so glad that you were able to attend you best friend’s wedding and that you made it home safely.

    Ruth is a very powerful book of the Old Testament – so much of Christ is it 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us this week.

    Be blessed today and always…

Leave a Reply

