The Joy of the Lord

There is a place deep down where the fountain of life springs from. That is where the joy of a child of God bubbles from. It does not matter the present circumstance; it does not matter that there are tears in your eyes; all that matters is Christ and his love.

Some time ago I got to understand that joy is not the absence of sadness and joy is not happiness. I could be unhappy about something, but that did not take away from my joy. My joy is something deep down and personal that gives me the strength to keep on keeping on.

I learnt this song as a child:

I’ve got the joy joy joy joy
Down in my heart (3xx)
I’ve got the
joy joy joy joy
Down in my heart,
Down in my heart today!

I am so happy; so very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart
I am so happy; so very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart.

Leave a Reply

